Non-PLC Question For Help

angus11

Hello Everybody.

I would not post this here if I did not really need some help with this. I appreciate your patience. I normally use this site for PLC and Automation-related questions/answers. I am a maintenance manager for a food processing company and I have inherited a problem that I need your help with. Here is the problem. We have an outside area that we park trucks in overnight and we then plug their reefers (refrigeration unit) into a SO-corded female receptacle (LEVITON CS8364C - twist-loc). The mating part to this receptacle is on a cord connected to the reefer. Drivers are often climbing into their trucks and absentmindedly driving away with this power supply connected, thus ripping the SO-cord from the electrical disconnect box and causing a very dangerous situation. I need to come-up a "break-away-type" of device, if there is such a thing, to replace the LEVITON CS8364C, if possible. Please let me know your thoughts.

Thank You!

Michael

Hi Michael,

A few suggestions come to mind if the drivers are check-in receiving have them sign a form about charging them damage fees if they drive away. This can trigger a warning in their mind. You might not want to charge them, but this could bring it to their attention. Either way I know drivers are very fatigue most of the time.

You could give them a sign to hang on the steering wheel in red to remind them about the plug before the drive away.

Lastly and probably more important having worked in a warehouse, receiving docks have locking mechanism for trucks, why not lock the truck until the driver has made sure the plug is taken off?

Good luck with finding the right solution, but I think fixing the human behavior here is the actual issue in my opinion.

Have a look here we used these type for 480V, but they have them in several configurations including 120V, and 250V.