Compensation for Salaried employees working overtime

disgruntled

OK so this is off topic but I didn't know a better place to ask. I also signed up with an alternate ID because I’m trying to remain anonymous to people who may be able to read my old posts and determine who I am or who my employer may be.

I am a salaried controls/electrical engineer for a machine builder located in the USA who sometimes travels and works long hours and/or weekends. I receive no extra compensation for this and there is no official comp time policy. I sometimes feel taken advantage of by this practice, especially when I travel with hourly people who do get overtime plus a daily bonus in the $30 range for their travel. I have talked to my superior and have been told that the policy won’t be changed but I can call in sick at various times throughout the year to create my own comp time. To me this feels wrong as I’ve been here 10+ years and have only called in sick maybe 3 or 4 times. We get no official number of sick days but rather just take them as required. Too many in a row do require doctor’s note.

This came to a head on a recent, very large project where I again voiced my disagreement about the lack of an overtime/travel compensation policy. I’ve been going the extra mile on this project and when I brought it up, my superior flipped it back to me and has asked what I desire in light of the policy remaining unchanged. So the goal of this message is to try to ascertain how other companies, especially OEM’s, treat their salaried engineers when they travel and/or work significant amounts of overtime. I'm not trying to be unreasonable. Just looking for something fair.