PLC to PLC I/O

jwright

Hello,

I was wondering if any of you ever wire the output of a plc to an input of another plc. This would be done with stand alone plc driven machines using AB micrologix controllers and without a network.

Basically, I am sequencing plc controlled machines from a master plc. It seems to work fine. I think my main limitation here is in the loss of monitoring capability. Would this method be termed cascasing plcs or a master-slave arrangment?

Please advise as to other issues with this (pros/cons). The application is educational in nature - I am an electronics professor and do not have the budget this year to network the system.

Thanks for your help and expertise in advance.

Hello jwright;

In many of our projects, we do link I/O points between PLCs as a cheap and dirty way to exchange digital information. Care must be taken to examine the requirements of different modules; we have to install pull-up resistors sometimes on the circuits, for example.

I don't think there is any need to categorize and find "suitable" terms for this type of connection. "Master/slave communication" is already used in protocools of communication, "cascading" is used in PID loop definition. If you must give it a defining name, you could try something like controller or process synchronisation. I know academia (and I don't mean this with disrespect, I've taught both in college and university) thrives on pidgeon-holing definitions, but this does not help the technician in the field.
Hope this helps,
Daniel Chartier

Terminology

:nodi: Thanks Dainel,

Yes perhaps we do this in academia. I just want to accurately describe the process for documentation purposes - would not want to be criticized by you pros! Of course, I could always invent another term - we like to do this in academia you know o_O .