Direct Logic H2-CTRIO help please

Tubularfab

Ok, first of all I must remind you that I am a complete newb to PLC programming of any kind. I am working on a digital angle control for a mandrel tube bender, and my first step is to use a standalone PLC (as in separate from the one currently running the machine) to monitor a quadrature encoder on the bender and pass the scaled bend angle over to the PLC. For learning purposes I am using this separate PLC for my expirimentation and my only output is closing a relay when the bend angle is reached. This relay acts as a limit switch input for the other PLC running hte machine. This way I have no chance of doing anything dangerous while I'm learning!

I have a Direct Logic 205 series PLC with the DL240 processor, a relay output card, and an H2-CTRIO high speed counter. I am using a 360 div/rev quad encoder in 4x counting mode to get .25 degree resolution. I also have a 6" Cmore color touchscreen for an HMI.

I have configured the CTRIO using the CTRIO workbench for quad counting, 4X and scaled the output to degrees which is then stored in a memory V location with one implied decimal place. I have an output box on the C-more displaying this angle real time, and it is working. I also was able to create a reset pushbutton on the Cmore that momentarily closes the reset bit for the counter - that functions correctly as well.

OK - I should qualify - this is all working if I manually tell the ctrio to go into run mode in the workbench. It stays in run mode as long as I don't kill power to the plc. What I'm not getting is what do I need to do in the ladder logic to initialise the ctrio and put it in run mode. The examples in the ctrio manual are all using a lot more functions of the ctrio than I need.