Red Lion HMI and Control Techniques Drive... and lost !

icc1john

Although I have read many helpful threads in the past, I am new to participating here. I have completed many projects, big and small using AB and more recently Automation direct / C-more - but now I have two devices - both of which I have ZERO experience with...
The machine designer has specified the use of a CT Commander SX drive with a G304K Red lion HMI. I took a look at them both, lots of great things written about the Red Lion, so I figured "how hard could it be" ?
Well - First the realization that I needed the special cable for commissioning the G304 - now that I am past that, I have realized that there is no cable for the Commander SX... and that the SX communicates with via Modbus... requiring that t communicates through what the red lion uses for configuration... geez... and there is no cable for the 485 comms to the Commander.. Hole is getting deeper...

OK, I made a cable today from the 9 pin on the Red Lion to the RJ45 on the SX - set up the comms in Crimson to Modbus Universal Master, and TaDa... little blue light is flashing. At least I'm making progress.

Now all I want to do is start, stop, MOP, and monitor frequency in the SX, but as I stated, I have no idea how to get the data to and from the SX - ZERO Modbus experience and confused on the addressing.
Any help would be appreciated. !!!

Look in the manuals for the drive for the modbus mapping. You be looking in the 30000's and 40000's for the command and status bits and words. Sorry I can't help any more, I'm not familiar with the CT drives either.

Well I managed to configure the G304K so I can now use the ethernet for programming, freeing up the 9pin for comms with the commander SK, but I have yet to come up with a working comms cable form the g304 to the SK. I found a drawing for the adapter cable when used with CTvue (crimson 2.0 offspring), I have tried many variations, no luck.