FactoryTalk View SE error messages - bad malloc and IPC restarting

scotthower

I'm working on an existing system (Historian, VantagePoint, Transaction Manager - just added View SE to the mix). In the message area of View SE I see a repeating pattern of errors:

Timed out waiting for Col_Data_Advise: restarting IPC

(53687) -00001 -00001 The Collector thread could not find the collector class 8 instance 14

(53650) -00001 -00001 The IPC thread recognized a IPC read error 32794

-00001 -00001 No malloc, Bad Quality: 0x0

The last one (bad quality) repeats a varied amount of times. I've Googled and not found anything - I'm thinking that there is one misconfiguration that is cascading through to cause the error messages. I'm new to this particular system and working through how it's put together.

Can anyone point me to where to begin troubleshooting?

Thanks!

Rockwell Tech Support has a Tech Note on this type of message. You must have a Tech Connect contract to access this note.

https://rockwellautomation.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/8664

They indicate it is actually a warning, not an error. It could mean no data points have been defined for the collector.

Are these errors (red circle), warnings (Yellow triangle), or informational (Blue circles) messages?

OG

You have not really said that you have any particular issue as a result of these messages. Is that correct? Are you just curious, and/or would prefer them not there?

scotthower said:
...In the message area of View SE I see a repeating pattern of errors...

Where exactly are you looking at these messages?
The Event Log for the View SE Server, or for an SE Client?

I think we are looking at possibly two separate issues here...

The first three errors I think are related...

Timed out waiting for Col_Data_Advise: restarting IPC

(53687) -00001 -00001 The Collector thread could not find the collector class 8 instance 14

(53650) -00001 -00001 The IPC thread recognized a IPC read error 32794