Red Lion String

rjswagel

Red Lion Crimson 3.0 string tag read/write to logix 5000 controller. It reads no problem when I write to the controller I get a row of $00$00$00$00 of varying lengths depending on the entry. I am new to Red Lion as our shop is 99% Rockwell.

Welcome to PLCTalk.

Can you share more detail?

What driver are you using in your red lion product?

Are you just assigning a crimson tag to a Logix 5k string tag, or are you doing something more complex?

And the bigger picture, what is the big view of what you are trying to accomplish?

I want to be able to change the string change in the PLC. It is a down time description.

Driver Allen-Bradley Native Tags via L5K file

I have the plc tag assigned to a crimson tag.

I have an extensive OEE program in the PLC and want the ability to change downtime descriptions from the HMI

Thank you, I am working through the pdf. It has me to the point where I an now getting an empty string. I am going to set my length to a constant as my PLC is a custom length of 12.

I worked through the PDF and I can control my length, but I still only get $00$00.... based on what length I enter into the len. I still do not get anything to enter from the HMI keyboard.

I am thinking that I am not executing the information out of the keyboard. Is there a set up that I need to perform to make the keyboard?

What is your Crimson hardware?

Did you follow Ken's instructions for using the object data entry complete action?

If you can zip and attach your crimson file to a thread that would speed things up. (To attach files, in the quickreply window click the "Go Advanced" button at the bottom, then follow the instructions for "Attach File").

Yes, ending the string is not a problem and that document is a bit out dated. Red Lion allows you to set the string length when creating the tag. Using Ken's document I have manipulated the length to any length lower than the length set by the PLC.