How to test a Dynamic Braking Resistor?

KingPresident

I have a vector drive faulting out. Manual says inspect and test the Braking Resistor. I have never done this procedure before.

===
From Google searching I came up with:

1. remove resistor from circuit.

2. set fluke to ohms, put a probe on each end of the resistor

3. compare values of meter and resistor rating.
===

Is that correct?

I have a vector drive faulting out. Manual says inspect and test the Braking Resistor. I have never done this procedure before.

===
From Google searching I came up with:

1. remove resistor from circuit.

2. set fluke to ohms, put a probe on each end of the resistor

3. compare values of meter and resistor rating.
===

Is that correct?

Hi, well you'd definitely need to remove it from the circuit, at least one end, anyway. That way there is no possibility of getting a false reading on the meter.

You could of just done it and compared the Fluke Ohms reading with the Ohms reading on the side of the breaking resistor!

Most breaking resistors (dynamic brakes) have a thermal switch in them to protect the device from melting or catching fire. While you're checking the resistor you should check the switch as well.

What is the Fault that's coming up "Buss Over voltage"
if it fault pops up on power up try powering up without the DB resistor
Check the DB Transistor i have seen them shorted usually when that happens the resistor burns up
Also when working with the DB resistor one end is connected directly to one leg of the DC Buss (750 VDC)

yes, but

Most breaking resistors (dynamic brakes) have a thermal switch in them to protect the device from melting or catching fire. While you're checking the resistor you should check the switch as well.