Trying to add HMI alarm in Wincc with TIA 13

stayclashy80

Hey Guys,

I'm trying to add an HMI alarm and can't get the trigger address to enter in the block. I'm new to all this so its probably something easy. I hit the green check box at the bottom but it doesn't enter the tag and goes back to displaying <No tag>.

M5 boxmaker vertical stacking rods stuck condition logic change.jpg

Try to add a MW or MD word instead of a bit.
The trigger bit is the bitno in the word.

edit: I notice that all the alarm bits are tagged with an individual tagname, i.e. Alarmword_200.x0, Alarmword_200.x1 etc
what is the address of these tags ?
I think this is a misunderstanding of how it works. Define just a word or doubleword, and then the triggerbit number refers to the individual bits within the word.

I use a DB array for alarms, and then have only one Tag of for example 64 datawords to have 1024 Alarms.

Another thing I notice in your first screenshot.
You have a direct condition for the alarm bit. If the condition is only active very shortly it will be a matter of random chance that the HMI gets to see the alarm bit being TRUE.
Think about that every alarm bit that the HMI is monitoring should be latched on (S) and then reset by another method, either a physical pushbutton or an akcnowledge bit from the HMI.

Last edited:
Very good information Jesper, thanks. I tried a MW and it still won't work. I tried a bunch of words and nothing would take into the box. I even tried words that were already existing and they wouldn't take either. It's like I'm not meeting conditions to be able to enter a value in the box. Do I have to be online with the HMI PC before it will let me change something in the program?

You try to add a new alarm with the text "Vertical stacking rod ... " ?
The existing alarms, i.e. "Door Not OK Zone 1" etc., works OK ?
If so, copy what has been done for these alarms.

edit: Create the HMI tag first, i.e. Alarm_word_110.