SLC analog voltage input card

Hello all,
This is my first time using this forum and I am looking forward to it!!
I have a question regarding SLC analog input cards.
I have a SLC analog input card, takes -5 to 5 volts input,
but when you unplug the cabling into the card, making all channels open circuited, take a voltmeter to it,
it reads 0.5 volts, the problem is this,
how would you separate a bad cable, or unplugged cabling with a regular 0.5 volt input reading then?
The impedance of the transmitter is 5Kohm.
The card itself, have 8inputs, I am using two of them, would the problem go away if I were to short out the other channels?
Thanks,
George

I have 2 suggestions, first verify that the plc registers "SEE" this .5v ...ie there is a numeric value that would represent .5v.

The second part is try another meter, digital meters especially Fluke, are very sensitive and may offer values that arent "real". Try a simple analog meter if possible.

I dont think I would short anything. If there is a voltage present with nothing connected you will need to determine why.

Are you implying that you never short out analog inputs when they are not used?
You simply leave them open? Whether it's current or voltage input?
I see some of our drawings advises us to short out the inputs when they are not used.
George

When no meter is attached to that input, the PLC reads a value, once you stick the digital voltmeter probe to it, that PLC reading lowers. Makes sense since there is a small amount of loading effect.
I agree that digital voltmeters can give false readings, and in some cases it's too sensitive, but on the other hand, since analog voltmeter has much lower impedance than the input card, it might give a 0 volt reading as well. Which also can mislead you.
Any thoughts on that?
I read in the AB manual that there is an open circuit status only on analog CURRENT inputs though, they don't apply for voltage inputs.
So this brings us back to the original question/problem.