You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 13th, 2019, 10:53 AM   #1
Bullzi
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Bullzi is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,383
Ignition SCADA Questions

Hi Everyone,
Looking at a new job and they want to use Ignition SCADA. I have never used Ignition before so I am looking for Pointers on how to get started. I have used FTV SE before so I have that knowledge but not sure it helps
Project Details:
1. The Customer is buying the Licenses for the Software.
2. This will be a network distributed project.

Here are some questions:
1. Do I need to buy a "Development" License to develop the project? I will be developing off site on my own computer.
2. If I wanted to get some hands on training where would you recommend?
3. Any "Gotcha's" that I should be aware of? Mostly looking for things that I need to account for in my quoting.

Thanks for your time!!!
__________________
There is never enough money to do it right but there is always enough money to do it again.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2019, 11:02 AM   #2
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 10,192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullzi View Post
Hi Everyone,
Looking at a new job and they want to use Ignition SCADA. I have never used Ignition before so I am looking for Pointers on how to get started. I have used FTV SE before so I have that knowledge but not sure it helps
Project Details:
1. The Customer is buying the Licenses for the Software.
2. This will be a network distributed project.

Here are some questions:
1. Do I need to buy a "Development" License to develop the project? I will be developing off site on my own computer.
No. You can download and install it simply by registering. It will run in trial mode and you will have to reset the trial timer every two hours, but you can repeat that step indefinitely.

Quote:
2. If I wanted to get some hands on training where would you recommend?
Inductive University is outstanding for online training. I have trained myself using it, and have not attended any classes in person, but I have heard only good things about those classes.

https://inductiveuniversity.com/courses/all

Quote:
3. Any "Gotcha's" that I should be aware of? Mostly looking for things that I need to account for in my quoting.

Thanks for your time!!!
Once you register, you will probably be contacted by an account manager who can assist you with planning. They make it pretty easy to figure out the costs and offer limited packages if your needs are significantly smaller than their standard offerings. We have only used small single client systems so far, and with a limited number of tags, it ends up about half the cost of their "Foundation" package.

I can't think of any real "gotchas". You do purchase drivers separately in groups, and if you need alarm notification that is a separate purchase (email alerts). We have some customers with both alarm notification and the voice notification module which is another add-on module, but works very well.
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2019, 11:43 AM   #3
Paully's5.0
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Paully's5.0 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: WI
Posts: 2,107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullzi View Post
Hi Everyone,
I have used FTV SE before so I have that knowledge but not sure it helps
Forget what you learned.

While Ignition is very easy, powerful and feature-rich you can easily start heading down the wrong path before you know it. Depending on your overall SCADA experience, you may want to pay IA's design services for some consulting work to get you started.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2019, 12:32 PM   #4
damica1
Member
United States

damica1 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Illinois
Posts: 697
I love Ignition, I am developing a Scada system for an Oil & Gas producer. We are using MQTT to communication with all of our Remote units.

One thing that makes Ignition so powerful, is because of the many ways you can incorporate "Python Scripting".(So you may need a python book, but easy to learn)

Just start with Ignition university and join the forum, I ask questions all the time and they have some great people there.
__________________
David M. Camp

Unlocking the power of IOT in Oil & Gas!
  Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2019, 01:24 PM   #5
diat150
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

diat150 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullzi View Post
Hi Everyone,
Looking at a new job and they want to use Ignition SCADA. I have never used Ignition before so I am looking for Pointers on how to get started. I have used FTV SE before so I have that knowledge but not sure it helps
Project Details:
1. The Customer is buying the Licenses for the Software.
2. This will be a network distributed project.

Here are some questions:
1. Do I need to buy a "Development" License to develop the project? I will be developing off site on my own computer.
2. If I wanted to get some hands on training where would you recommend?
3. Any "Gotcha's" that I should be aware of? Mostly looking for things that I need to account for in my quoting.

Thanks for your time!!!



Is this an oil and gas project?


#1 thing, get familiar with SQL and python. You cant truly unlock the power of Ignition without some familiarity with those 2.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2019, 02:02 PM   #6
Paully's5.0
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Paully's5.0 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: WI
Posts: 2,107
Quote:
Originally Posted by diat150 View Post
is this an oil and gas project?


#1 thing, get familiar with sql and python. You cant truly unlock the power of ignition without some familiarity with those 2.
+1
  Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2019, 03:00 PM   #7
Dravik
Member
United States

Dravik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,431
The IA forums are also really helpful for specific questions.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2019, 03:33 PM   #8
NetNathan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

NetNathan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 1,577
Several sites for free Python training.

Kahn Academy is a very good one...
https://www.khanacademy.org/
__________________
****Control Freak****
Net is where I be and Nathan is me.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2019, 07:21 PM   #9
Phrog30
Member
United States

Phrog30 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullzi View Post
Any "Gotcha's" that I should be aware of?
Yes, after you use Ignition you will absolutely hate any HMI from Rockwell!!
  Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2019, 09:41 PM   #10
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,895
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullzi View Post
Hi Everyone,
Looking at a new job and they want to use Ignition SCADA.
Smart customer

I did my first Ignition project last year, and my honest opinion is that Ignition leaves every other SCADA package in the dust. I can't count the number of times I went "I wonder if I can do this in Ignition, only to find that the answer was "well, yes, but you don't actually need to in Ignition because it's done automatically for you, or there are three or four even simpler or more elegant solutions available." Phrog is right, after you use Ignition you'll never want to go back.

I started off with exactly zero knowledge of Ignition, zero knowledge of python, and only a basic handle on SQL. I went through their online Inductive University, and after that was 90% able to do whatever I needed to do. The other 10%, I posted on the Ignition forums, and invariably got fast, accurate and helpful responses, often directly from the developers that write the software.

Get a head start on the Inductive University stuff now, and when it comes time to develop you'll find yourself wishing you'd tried Ignition five years ago


Edit: the only gotcha I (almost) got caught out with was that the Historian module doesn't include an SQL database. You have to provide it with an SQL database to run. You can use the free version of MSSQL (Express) if 10GB is enough for your purposes, or there are other options out there (MySQL, Oracle, etc) though I don't know if any of them are free. Ignition supports basically any SQL database with a JDBC driver (which is most of them) - there's a full list in their technical documentation, which is all freely available online. Though, if the customer is supplying all the licenses, they're likely all over this as well and it's not your problem regardless. But just for future reference

Last edited by ASF; March 13th, 2019 at 09:44 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2019, 11:15 PM   #11
VAN
Member
United States

VAN is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wa
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASF View Post
Edit: the only gotcha I (almost) got caught out with was
I agree with everything you said, after using Ignition, I never wanted to go back to standalone like FTME or FTSE (not ignoring Wonderware or Archestra... def. want Ignition over those).

The one gotcha that might be fixed now, is the JAVA problem. For awhile you needed to get tricky on how to get JAVA Runtime (its been awhile) to work. You could hack around and make it work with windows updates etc. but it was annoying. I believe the newest versions left Java client stuff behind, but is still pretty JAVA based.

When I got out of the Ignition world they just developed EDGE (with 500 tag limit? Why... I think it's now unlimited.) and talk of going HTML5 for clients. Either way, Ignition has pretty solid support and the online university (free) is pretty awesome. I'll note the license can be pretty steep, I remember about a year ago wanting to make a home automation system with it and they started the talk around $10,000 for a license. Then again, I could have been talking to the wrong people.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2019, 11:56 AM   #12
NetNathan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

NetNathan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 1,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASF View Post
Smart customer

I did my first Ignition project last year, and my honest opinion is that Ignition leaves every other SCADA package in the dust. I can't count the number of times I went "I wonder if I can do this in Ignition, only to find that the answer was "well, yes, but you don't actually need to in Ignition because it's done automatically for you, or there are three or four even simpler or more elegant solutions available." Phrog is right, after you use Ignition you'll never want to go back.

I started off with exactly zero knowledge of Ignition, zero knowledge of python, and only a basic handle on SQL. I went through their online Inductive University, and after that was 90% able to do whatever I needed to do. The other 10%, I posted on the Ignition forums, and invariably got fast, accurate and helpful responses, often directly from the developers that write the software.

Get a head start on the Inductive University stuff now, and when it comes time to develop you'll find yourself wishing you'd tried Ignition five years ago


Edit: the only gotcha I (almost) got caught out with was that the Historian module doesn't include an SQL database. You have to provide it with an SQL database to run. You can use the free version of MSSQL (Express) if 10GB is enough for your purposes, or there are other options out there (MySQL, Oracle, etc) though I don't know if any of them are free. Ignition supports basically any SQL database with a JDBC driver (which is most of them) - there's a full list in their technical documentation, which is all freely available online. Though, if the customer is supplying all the licenses, they're likely all over this as well and it's not your problem regardless. But just for future reference
MySQL is still free...
__________________
****Control Freak****
Net is where I be and Nathan is me.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2019, 10:12 PM   #13
DwSoFt
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

DwSoFt is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 904
Bullzi!

In a nutshell everything is possible in ignition but as Diat and Pauly said you need to understand SQL and Python.

You will not regret using it. I have done some unconventional things with it and now every other software package leaves me wishing it was Ignition
__________________
Dan Wiebe
-----------------
Automation Manager
Phoenix Energy Services
  Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2019, 06:05 AM   #14
JordanCClark
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

JordanCClark is offline
 
JordanCClark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 503
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetNathan View Post
MySQL is still free...
As is MariaDB (they forked MySQL when Oracle acquired them, and who can blame them?). They've been gaining ground as the tend to put more functionality out than MySQL.

PostgreSQL is also free and a good choice. I moved to it from MySQL and haven't looked back.
__________________
_____________________________
Jordan

Any man that can hitch the length and breadth of the Galaxy, rough it, slum it, struggle against terrible odds, win through and still know where his towel is, is clearly a man to be reckoned with.
-- Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy
  Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2019, 06:08 AM   #15
JordanCClark
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

JordanCClark is offline
 
JordanCClark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 503
Almost forgot. If you're running the db on a Linux platform, punctuation matters. If you get into the habit of using lower case for columns, it won't matter if it's Windows or Linux.

Just wanting to save you some headaches that I went through.
__________________
_____________________________
Jordan

Any man that can hitch the length and breadth of the Galaxy, rough it, slum it, struggle against terrible odds, win through and still know where his towel is, is clearly a man to be reckoned with.
-- Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ABB PLC and Ignition SCADA for Pilot Plant Application raiderrob11 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 January 8th, 2019 02:21 AM
(Solved)Ignition Scada Barcode Scanning Problem to AB JeremyAdair LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 December 4th, 2018 04:44 AM
Ignition Software - questions tremes LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 26 August 17th, 2017 11:24 AM
Ignition Questions DwSoFt LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 November 18th, 2016 02:37 PM
Ignition SCADA queries lostcontrol LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 March 14th, 2014 02:42 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 PM.


.