You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 14th, 2019, 01:47 PM   #1
skyfox
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

skyfox is offline
 
skyfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: CA
Posts: 212
Multiple VFD's with Varying frame sizes in same enclosure?

Is it OK to have multiple Frame size VFD's inside the same enclosure that will be dedicated to VFD's only or is there any code/regulations against doing so?


Frame sizes will 4 A's and one D.


Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2019, 02:12 PM   #2
jraef
Member
United States

jraef is offline
 
jraef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,717
Frame size means nothing to anyone but the person designing the box.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2019, 03:14 PM   #3
rupej
Member
United States

rupej is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: NC
Posts: 557
No problem. It's done all the time.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2019, 12:25 AM   #4
skyfox
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

skyfox is offline
 
skyfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: CA
Posts: 212
jraef, rupej,


Thank you both. I have never seen a VFD enclosure panel with more than one VFD inside of it(other than in pictures), at customer sites to date. On each one I have seen, there was a lot of empty space left inside of them. Sort of like parking a Yugo inside a double car garage if you will. So I read up on some NEMA specs, but didn't find anything that dictated the enclosure footprint nor did it state that only one VFD can reside inside of one. Therefore I asked the question to be sure.

Now the next question.....To cool or not to cool?

If VFD manufacturers installation guidelines are followed and proper spacing is allowed between the VFD's per their recommendations, do I still need to install a enclosure cooling fan?. The VFD Panel will be inside climate controlled plants where ambient temps will never exceed 25C (77 F). Will the VFD enclosures still need cooling? VFD's will only run the motors involved in the process for around 2 hours starlight at the most. Then, they will have a 2 hour idle time before the next cycle is started. This will continue on 24/7 basis.


Thanks again.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2019, 12:47 AM   #5
Rob...
Supporting Member
United Kingdom

Rob... is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Manchester
Posts: 212
Yes the panel will most likely need cooling. Unless it is large enough to remove the heat generated by convection.

Decent rule of thumb is 6% of the rated duty of the VSD will be it's heat output. (100kW VSD would generate 6kW of heating).

Rittal have some free software that will calculate what you require called rittal therm.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VFDs & PLC in same enclosure? dogleg43 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 34 September 13th, 2018 01:11 PM
Multiple VFD Enclosure Beau79AU LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 April 7th, 2018 01:22 PM
Multiple VFD's Communication rohit_plc LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 June 28th, 2017 02:10 PM
Running multiple VFDs on RCD protected circuits Jieve LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 September 27th, 2015 08:05 PM
PLC to control multiple Yaskawa V1000 VFDs mateuszczwakiel LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 June 8th, 2015 01:28 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 PM.


.