You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 21st, 2014, 07:21 AM   #16
WhiteBear
Member
Belgium

WhiteBear is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Earth
Posts: 18
After axis parameters setup tuning, everything is working finely. My work is complete. The automation guy is doing his job to retrofit the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2014, 11:47 AM   #17
Manglemender
Member
United Kingdom

Manglemender is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1,119
Well done! I've put my problems down to faulty encoders. I have a new batch of 3rd party motors running in a new machine and going on test next week so let's hope they work OK.

Nick
  Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2014, 05:39 PM   #18
WhiteBear
Member
Belgium

WhiteBear is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Earth
Posts: 18
Ahhh, encoders. We destroyed a set of Sick-stegmann SRM encoders because of improper cabling (bad teamwork). So we had extra work to swap the motors to firstly complete the retrofit tests. I shall make and post a small movie of the complete retrofit once done if the customer is okay with it. That will take some time since only one, very seasoned person is retrofiting the whole machine from PLC programming, messaging, security, field buses, to HMI software conception and design.

Last edited by WhiteBear; September 21st, 2014 at 05:46 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2015, 10:41 AM   #19
ExplorerOL
Member
Russian Federation

ExplorerOL is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: NN
Posts: 4
Hi!
Now I'm trying to replace an encoder at Allen-Bradley MPL-B320P-M motor. I managed to read datafields from original encoder, write it into a new one. Now I need to write a correct value in the field for commutation offset in the encoder. But after I do it, drive shows "Encoder data incorrest" (something like that). As I understand I must recalculate crc for this datafield. But I don't know how to do it. Can anybody help me?
  Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2015, 10:55 PM   #20
BAJ
Member
United States

BAJ is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteBear View Post
Rockwell do support third party motors, but for a few motor manufacturers only
Some motors, no drives.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2015, 01:15 AM   #21
alan_505
Member
Australia

alan_505 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne,Victoria,Australia
Posts: 584
You require special equipment and knowledge to align any replacement encoders on AB servo motors, it is not something that should be attempted on site.

Alan
  Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2015, 04:43 PM   #22
WhiteBear
Member
Belgium

WhiteBear is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Earth
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by BAJ View Post
Some motors, no drives.
I don't quite understand your statement. If you could elaborate please. Is it that they don't want to, or they can't ?
  Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2015, 11:16 PM   #23
ExplorerOL
Member
Russian Federation

ExplorerOL is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: NN
Posts: 4
Hello! I managed to find the way how to calculate datafield's control summ - to summ values of 2 bytes from the datafield (30 at all) and then leave only 2 bytes. These 2 bytes are 2 last bytes of each datafield in the Sick SRM50 encoder in MPL motors. If somebody works in this field and need more information how to replace these encoders in AB motors, I can share the information, that I know now.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2015, 10:46 AM   #24
WhiteBear
Member
Belgium

WhiteBear is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Earth
Posts: 18
Here's a vidéo of the progress of the retrofit of the packaging machine :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=go52dvm_-uc


There's not a single AB-R motor on this machine. All Elau SM 100/140x with SRM50 hiperface absolute encoders. Motors stay below 50°C after an hour. All logic programming is done, I/O are registered, time-wise it's not far from completed.

Last edited by WhiteBear; July 9th, 2015 at 10:53 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2017, 08:35 AM   #25
mcardoso
Member
United States

mcardoso is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1
CMF Files

Hello WhiteBear,

I have also been working to figure out how to reverse engineer these CMF files, hopefully to allow me to use some incremental servos on SERCOS drives. Would you be willing to share the information you collected on the CMF file format, in particular the blobdata field? It would really help me out trying to run a few of these more obscure motors which Rockwell would not create CMF files for.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2018, 09:15 AM   #26
ambaharsha
Member
United States

ambaharsha is offline
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Flroida
Posts: 1
Rockwell With Elau

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteBear View Post
After axis parameters setup tuning, everything is working finely. My work is complete. The automation guy is doing his job to retrofit the whole thing.
Hello Whitebear,

Can you please explain me how you were able to run elau motor in Rockwell platform I am trying to do the same thing
  Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2019, 03:08 PM   #27
TerriBrown8323
Member
United States

TerriBrown8323 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3
Hello I know this thread is old but does anyone have the Rockwell Blob file data layout? I have a control design that is locked down by the military at V17.3 , using sercos and (4) Kinetix 6000 drives. My motor manufacture has gone out of business and no one at Rockwell remembers the data layout for the .blb file. Its a custom motor with a Stegmann Hyperface SKM absolute encoder. I have figured out how to program the extended data label in the encoder using the Sick PGT11 programmer but need to find additional information on the blob file data layout and what is being read by the 5000 processor during phase 3 of the 6000 drive. Thanks for any help you might be able to give.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2019, 09:57 AM   #28
WhiteBear
Member
Belgium

WhiteBear is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Earth
Posts: 18
Hello,

Not quite dead.


Everything in the Sick encoder memory is read, checked, and must have whole integrity.


I don't quite understand your goal : do you have spare custom motors that have not been setup for use with Kinetix 6000 ?


In this case, copying the structure from a working motor is a starting point. But commutation might be a big issue depending how they were made.


I suppose, as usual in this type of request, that you are the "poor guy" doing the actual technical job while others reap the cash ?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2019, 11:58 AM   #29
TerriBrown8323
Member
United States

TerriBrown8323 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3
WhiteBear,
Thank you for answering, you are correct in you assumption.
I did the original PLC software while another engineer designed the hardware and motors. My biggest problem is this... We are now tasked with redesigning the motors. The original design criteria was IP55. The plan now is to design/build new motors that are form, fit and function but are IP68. The original design team from 2010 is now down to myself and one other engineer.
I am trying to learn as much as I can before my back is up against the wall trying to integrate the new motors into a 10 yr old hardware design. The original motor manufacture that received the blob files from Rockwell no longer exist, nor does the division within Rockwell that created the file.
Every time I have googled anything on Rockwell custom motors or blob files, this thread came up so I was hoping someone could help.
My ultimate goal is to be able to understand the data layout within the .blb file. I can see my motor part number but other then that, its just a bunch of hex numbers to me. So any help I can get would be so appreciated, again, thanks for answering!
  Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2019, 02:10 AM   #30
Manglemender
Member
United Kingdom

Manglemender is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1,119
The last time I had custom motor files made, they were done by Rockwell in the UK. The person that made the files is close to retirement but, as far as I know, he still works for Rockwell.

When I last inquired: if Rockwell produced a suitable motor that you could have used then they would charge to create the custom motor file. I don't know if Rockwell still offer this service but I may be about to find out as we've just received an order for another machine like the one that needed the last custom files.

Nick
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Omron Cj1m glenncovington LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 March 7th, 2012 05:01 PM
RSLogix5000 with 3rd party servo motor coa LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 February 8th, 2012 04:07 PM
Rockwell Allen Bradley Programming Software, RSLogix 5, RSLogix 500, RS Linx, RSLogix vvcd LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 21 September 24th, 2009 10:04 PM
Motor suggestions for PLC trainer? kolyur LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 September 30th, 2006 05:28 AM
Learning by Doing Ch 3 The stepper motor leitmotif LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 20 June 8th, 2005 10:36 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 PM.


.