You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 30th, 2007, 08:41 AM   #1
sandhya123
Member
Singapore

sandhya123 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: sINGAPORE
Posts: 1
PLC Integration with DCS

Hi PLC Experts,

I am a frequent visitor to this site. Though I do not have any experience in PLCs, I have learnt a lot from this site. Couple of years ago I used to post questions on HVAC controls and I did get pretty useful answers from many of you, for which I am very grateful.

Today I need to solve a problem and hence I am bouncing back to this site. I am sure that I will be getting a help again from this site.

I am working on a batch control project, which is based on S88 standard. I will have to integrate six PLCs with an Emerson DCS.Emerson DCS in this project has six serial link interface cards, with 50 points allotted for each PLCs. The protocol is MODBUS RTU over RS 485. Earlier Emerson DCS had included multidrop communication, which I changed to Point to Point.

Now one of the PLC vendor(Process Equipment Supplier) claims that this will not work as the data transfer would be very slow. My argument is that it should not as the points are just 50. The communication is between PLC(Siemens PLC) and Emerson Controller(MD Plus). I can not change the MODBUS RTU protocol to MODBUS Over TCP/IP as the contract with Emerson DCS was made before I could join the project.

The purpose of communication between PLC and Emerson DCS is to use the transferred data from the PLC in phase logic that will be built in the Emerson Controller. Hence appreciate if you could let me know whether the data transfer rate would be slow using MODBUS RTU over RS 485, Point to Point comm.Is there any other soltuion? Am I missing some thing?

Thanks in advance

Sandhya

Last edited by sandhya123; October 30th, 2007 at 08:46 AM. Reason: Too many double spaces
  Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2007, 08:48 AM   #2
SLC_Integrator
Member
United States

SLC_Integrator is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 415
Simple asnwer is yes, Modbus RTU is slow.
Modbus TCP is lightning fast compared to RTU.
RTU is usually set to 9600 baud and if your looking for time-critical data transfer, your going to have problems.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dcs & plc ria112 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 24 September 5th, 2007 07:02 AM
DNP3 SCADA & Allen Bradley Controllogix PLC Integration Ariel Danez LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 September 23rd, 2005 11:40 AM
Dcs, Scada hasnoclue LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 April 11th, 2005 06:12 AM
Plc, Scada And Dcs zw81856d LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 September 16th, 2004 09:58 AM
Plc & Dcs Kumaravelu LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 March 3rd, 2004 06:50 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.


.