Analog input wiring question

Von

Hello all,

I'm a bit of a newbie to PLCs but not basic electronics. Here's my situation:

I have a several mature TI/Siemens 545 plcs with 6208 analog input modules configured for current input (via external jumpers and internal 250 ohm res.)

The system is used to measure water flow with 24 vdc loop powered (2 wire) differential pressure transmitters. These transmitters are going to be replaced with MagMeters who's controllers/interface supply power for the 4-20 output. The instructions state that the magmeter interface is not to be hooked up to devices which also supply power. The analog input modules are not dedicated to just these transmitters so the magmeters and other transmitters must co-exist on the same modules.

A co-worker suggested removing the card's external jumper for the specific input to be used and then hooking up the magmeter's output to the module's input terminal and the return to the card's common terminal.

A "red flag" went up as I thought that was a no-no and that an isolator (such as an AGM "AUX4000-13") would need to be used to isolate the power sources.

Buying a different or additional modules to dedicate to the magmeters are not an option.

Can anyone tell me who's right, or an easier (cheaper) way to do this?

Thanks in advance...

VON

Your old 2-wire transmitters are most likely connected as follows:

The + terminal on the transmitter is connected to the +24vdc of the power supply.
The - terminal on the transmitter is connected to the PLC input channel.
The com terminal on the PLC input card is connected to 24vdc com of the power supply.

If your new 4-wire transmitters have isolated outputs (most new high quality transmitters have isolated outputs), then you should be able to connect them as follows:

The + terminal on the transmitter is connected to the PLC input channel.
The - terminal on the transmitter is connected to the com terminal on the PLC input card.