You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 20th, 2017, 09:22 PM   #1
ScruffyNerfHurtr
Member
United States

ScruffyNerfHurtr is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: PA
Posts: 43
Remote Access To Compact Logix

I'm looking into setting up remote access to a piece of machinery several states away that has a compact logix L24 controller. Does anyone have a preference on what VPN router works well with Allen Bradley? So far I'm leaning towards the **** Cosy 131. Has anyone had experience with this?
  Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2017, 08:56 AM   #2
y2kmfic
Member
United States

y2kmfic is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Posts: 61
I know ProSoft has a cellular remote access gateway and service.
http://www.prosoft-technology.com/La...lular-Gateways

The www.prosoft.io service has a nice, clean interface.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2017, 10:03 AM   #3
AutoMax
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

AutoMax is offline
 
AutoMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Normal/Plymouth/Irvine
Posts: 269
I have had positive results with ****, but I've heard others complain about them quite a bit.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2017, 10:25 AM   #4
Bit_Bucket_07
Member
United States

Bit_Bucket_07 is offline
 
Bit_Bucket_07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Southeast US
Posts: 1,401
Quote:
Originally Posted by AutoMax View Post
I have had positive results with ****, but I've heard others complain about them quite a bit.
I'm just curious as to how they made the "dirty word" list at this forum.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2017, 10:55 AM   #5
BlueAltezza
Member
United States

BlueAltezza is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 150
I've used the Phoenix mGuard - both the cell and wired versions.

I've found that most places don't get a great 4G reception, so downloading/uploading to plcs and especially screens can be risky if you plan on going cellular.

The mGuard can be tricky to set up at first, but if you have a local Phoenix resource they can help walk through it. Other than that I've loved the service and functionality of the units.

I haven't tried any "dirty word" units yet, but have heard great things.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2017, 09:13 PM   #6
ScruffyNerfHurtr
Member
United States

ScruffyNerfHurtr is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: PA
Posts: 43
It'll be a wired connection to the Company's network, So won't need to have cellular capabilities. This will be my first attempt at remote access to a PLC and panel view, so the easier the better lol
  Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2017, 01:28 AM   #7
crawler009
Member
Switzerland

crawler009 is offline
 
crawler009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 185
Taka a look at the SiteManager 1129 from secomea.
It helps you get through all the firewalls and gateways in the remote company's network.
Looks like the Cosy 131 is a similar product, but i dont know it.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2017, 07:00 AM   #8
godcixelsyd
Member
United States

godcixelsyd is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Georgia
Posts: 94
A) is it a company you work for or a customer? B) does the company already have a VPN setup? The company I used to work for used Cisco Anyconnect and I never had any issues out of it. C) are you doing this for a one time deal or will this be a regular occurrence?
  Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2017, 07:45 AM   #9
nmurray
Member
United States

nmurray is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Indiana
Posts: 65
My company uses the cosy 131, they are reliable I guess... I've never used any other.
My experience is VPN is always extremely slow. It takes me roughly 15 - 30 Minutes to connect to some PLC's this is obviously dependent on their connection but I've never seen a fast connection over VPN.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2017, 11:56 AM   #10
jethridge
Member
United States

jethridge is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 55
We use the Flexy and have had good results. I've never had an issue connecting to any device, but I haven't had to connect to a PLC/HMI outside of the US yet.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2017, 01:04 PM   #11
Phrog30
Member
United States

Phrog30 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 390
From what I've heard, spectrum controls has a better version of the ethingy. The software side is better now and if you get a subscription it's cheaper.

There is also TeamViewer, if your customer has a PC you can load software on.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2017, 09:58 PM   #12
ScruffyNerfHurtr
Member
United States

ScruffyNerfHurtr is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: PA
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by godcixelsyd View Post
A) is it a company you work for or a customer? B) does the company already have a VPN setup? The company I used to work for used Cisco Anyconnect and I never had any issues out of it. C) are you doing this for a one time deal or will this be a regular occurrence?
It is a customer, and it'll probably be an ongoing service to where I can connect to give them any updates or troubleshoot any problems they may have
  Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2017, 10:07 PM   #13
ScruffyNerfHurtr
Member
United States

ScruffyNerfHurtr is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: PA
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phrog30 View Post
From what I've heard, spectrum controls has a better version of the ethingy. The software side is better now and if you get a subscription it's cheaper.

There is also TeamViewer, if your customer has a PC you can load software on.
That was my initial thought and would be the easiest. But My boss doesn't want our software loaded on a non company computer, even though I could uninstall it when finished.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2017, 10:42 PM   #14
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,607
You can set up TeamViewer as a VPN and use it just like you would a hardware device.

Someone around here did up a step-by-step and posted it a while ago - a search of the forum will probably find it.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2017, 07:01 AM   #15
godcixelsyd
Member
United States

godcixelsyd is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Georgia
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScruffyNerfHurtr View Post
It is a customer, and it'll probably be an ongoing service to where I can connect to give them any updates or troubleshoot any problems they may have
If it's a customer I'd see if their network guys have a preference or restrictions. They may well have a VPN setup that you just need the credentials for.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PLC Remote Access Giz99 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 29 July 5th, 2016 02:46 AM
Remote access devices ASF LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 January 18th, 2015 03:09 AM
VMWare Player Compact Logix snordvikqplas LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 February 26th, 2014 04:12 PM
Compact Logix Comms Problem mrdmrd LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 March 3rd, 2008 01:21 PM
Producer Consumer Messging between Control Logix & Compact Logix plcnovel LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 July 24th, 2006 10:04 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 AM.


.