MELSEC FX2N PLC Communication

dhirub4u

Hi,

Kindly bear with me i am totally new to PLC.
We are using MELSEC FX2N PLC for our project.We are developing a software which will communicate with the PLC and will get all the outputs from the PLC which is set in PLC.

I got the manual, as i am new , i didn;t understood anything from the manual. I just need to get the outputs from the PLC.

Please tell me what are the basic things i should know before communicating with the PLC ?

how to set the configuration for the communication ? i think its 9600,N,8,1 which was set by vendor from who we got the PLC. But i was curious to know how to set that.

What commands should i send to get all the outputs from PLC?

Your help will be highly appreciated

Dhiru

What do you mean by output, the digital output or values from the memory area in the PLC ?

To program the PLC you will need GX Developer or GX-IEC Developer programming software and a communication cable which is called an SC-09.

To get data out of the front port of the PLC to a PC you will need additional software depending on what you want and what format you want it in.

Simple answer is you need software capable of reading addresses from the PLC, such as an OPC Server or Mitsubishi's MX Component. What are you trying to use for the communication? A program you write in VB or VC or what?

What you intend to do with the the data and in what programming language determines your requirements.

I want to read digital output from the PLC.
which additional software is needed to get the digital output ? please let me know

we are writing the program in vb.net using Serial component

dhirub4u said:
I want to read digital output from the PLC.
which additional software is needed to get the digital output ? please let me know

we are writing the program in vb.net using Serial component

You alredy have the answer in Crossbows post: