You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 25th, 2020, 06:54 PM   #16
MorphuisOGrady
Member
Sweden

MorphuisOGrady is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kiruna
Posts: 585
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanG View Post
Yes, that is right, I really didn't want WhatsApp on my phone, but my customers use it to help with their customer support. My way round it was to get a second phone, it gets switched off at night. And you can limit who can contact you via WhatsApp by limiting who is in your contact list on the phone.
If only this was the case I could live with it. I am tortured with Whatsapp calls from colleagues and customers abroad. All they need to do is find my contact details on teams and then call me on Whatsapp.

People can still contact you without being in your contact list.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2020, 04:48 AM   #17
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 14,520
I have gotten the OK from IT to have Skype for Business on the service peoples phones.
To me it is the simple solution that covers all my requirements.
We are using Skype for Business extensively anyway because of Covid.

The service people can call me without using expensive local phone fares.
I will be reachable whenever I am on my work PC. So if I have agreed to be available with a service guy outside office hours, I will simply power up my work PC when needed.

Now, I only have to get the service people to agree to this brilliant idea ...
__________________
Jesper
See my profile interests for Q&A
  Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2020, 04:54 AM   #18
BryanG
Member
United Kingdom

BryanG is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,551
I thought you could limit it that way, another reason why I wouldn't want WhatsApp on my main phone. Maybe it helped that my second phone had a fictitious name that nobody would associate with me and wasn't used anywhere else, and I never add a picture, or if I did it would be a stock picture off the internet. A little paranoia is a good thing. :-)
__________________
Knowledge is power, share the knowledge.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2020, 01:56 PM   #19
Nova5
Member
United States

Nova5 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Panhandle TX
Posts: 221
Virtualize android on your PC with BlueStacks. Install Whatsapp in there. sign in to your virtual Android with a new/different Google account than your phone.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2020, 01:58 PM   #20
Nova5
Member
United States

Nova5 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Panhandle TX
Posts: 221
Be aware Skype for Business is being killed in favor of Teams.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2020, 02:45 PM   #21
fredz0003
Member
Falkland Islands

fredz0003 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Houston
Posts: 185
Whatsapp is not tied to any user id, is tied to your phone number. So if someone is texting your or calling you, you can block them.

I don't even think you can use a pc for calls, is only for messaging.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2020, 03:21 PM   #22
GaryS
Member
United States

GaryS is offline
 
GaryS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lancaster Pa.
Posts: 1,470
I would recommend Skype it can give you both voice and video calls
you an also set it to call land line numbers and you can get a local phone number for the areas you work in most
it can be setup on both your laptop or cell phone
it works great a lot cheaper than cell phone
i haven't tried it yet but they have a desktop shears add in
  Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2020, 04:43 PM   #23
Lare
Member
Finland

Lare is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryS View Post
I would recommend Skype it can give you both voice and video calls
you an also set it to call land line numbers and you can get a local phone number for the areas you work in most
it can be setup on both your laptop or cell phone
it works great a lot cheaper than cell phone
i haven't tried it yet but they have a desktop shears add in

Only if you don't have skype business which teams replaced.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2020, 04:50 AM   #24
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 14,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryS
I would recommend Skype it can give you both voice and video calls
you an also set it to call land line numbers and you can get a local phone number for the areas you work in most
I use this feature a lot. In particularly private international calls.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lare View Post
Only if you don't have skype business which teams replaced.
I have regular Skype in my VM, and Skype for Business on my host. So I have both !
__________________
Jesper
See my profile interests for Q&A
  Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2020, 08:16 AM   #25
TurpoUrpo
Lifetime Supporting Member
Finland

TurpoUrpo is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,498
I hope you ditch the Skype for business and go with Teams... or if your IT is not getting it yet for you, have them hurry with that. Skype for business is obsolete.

Its quite good and you can have it on your phone nicely too. Just set quiet hours like you want and it wont disturb you when you don't want to.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2020, 08:36 AM   #26
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 14,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurpoUrpo View Post
I hope you ditch the Skype for business and go with Teams... or if your IT is not getting it yet for you, have them hurry with that. Skype for business is obsolete.
Our IT dont tend to change over to the most uptodate until 5 minutes after 12.
__________________
Jesper
See my profile interests for Q&A
  Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2020, 07:18 PM   #27
Jeev
Member
Australia

Jeev is offline
 
Jeev's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 622
Not to plug an MS product, but Teams actually is very good for remote work and collaboration. We have been using it extensively this year, and the ability to connect people to Teams meetings externally (External to the company in a web browser) is very useful. I commissioned a machine 4,000kms away the other day through Teams audio, video and screen control.


Day to day, the other half of our company is overseas, so Teams is a go to for meetings, design reviews, support and general communication.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2020, 05:33 AM   #28
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 14,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeev View Post
We have been using it extensively this year, and the ability to connect people to Teams meetings externally (External to the company in a web browser) is very useful.
Skype for Business can also do that, but I agree that it is a nuisance that we are using the older Skype while most others uses the newer Teams.
__________________
Jesper
See my profile interests for Q&A
  Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2020, 08:04 AM   #29
forqnc
Member
United States

forqnc is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Elizabeth City
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeev View Post
Not to plug an MS product, but Teams actually is very good for remote work and collaboration. We have been using it extensively this year, and the ability to connect people to Teams meetings externally (External to the company in a web browser) is very useful. I commissioned a machine 4,000kms away the other day through Teams audio, video and screen control.


Day to day, the other half of our company is overseas, so Teams is a go to for meetings, design reviews, support and general communication.
Another vote for Teams. Had to help a customer in Paraguay, just yesterday. The customer was at the machine showing me how he had wired it wrong and I was playing charades trying to show him the correct wiring. Language barrier

Now if there is an app out there which can automatically translate at the same time
  Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2020, 11:32 AM   #30
Nova5
Member
United States

Nova5 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Panhandle TX
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by forqnc View Post
Another vote for Teams. Had to help a customer in Paraguay, just yesterday. The customer was at the machine showing me how he had wired it wrong and I was playing charades trying to show him the correct wiring. Language barrier

Now if there is an app out there which can automatically translate at the same time

Check this out for that sorta situation.

https://www.teamviewer.com/en-us/augmented-reality/
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ladder logic help for studio 5000 pittlei LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 March 13th, 2020 08:24 AM
wincc flex and pc runtime problem mrt19 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 October 17th, 2017 11:12 AM
CP343-1 communication to a PC on a different subnet cpender LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 March 5th, 2010 11:26 AM
Desktop pc to AB industrial pc with RSLogix? NLittler LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 April 5th, 2006 09:42 AM
Omron C200H to PC Connection yopy_yogie LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 January 30th, 2005 07:47 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 PM.


.