How do I save previous day counter value?

dylantzips

Beginner here,

I need to count the number of rotations a turn table does per shift. When the shift is over I want to save the total number of rotations during the shift and transfer that number to a "Previous Shift Rotations" for use on the HMI. After that I want to reset the current counter so it is ready for the next day.

This screenshot of what I have so far might make some more sense:
http://prntscr.com/jto90u

Im not sure if my current setup would reset the previous day count to zero as soon as the reset is triggered.

If someone could tell me what to do it would be very appreciated. Thanks!

I will do it like this
hvs4nb.png
[/IMG]

Last edited:
you need to one shot your move and reset. Otherwise your next scan will write the reset value to the previous.

Yes that should work.

I would also make my one shot a DINT or DINT array. That way you do not have to create a new BOOL every time you need a one shot. If you make OneShot_Bit a DINT then you have 32 made. OneShot_Bit.0 thru OneShot_Bit.31 then you can just pick them as needed.

Yes that should work.

I would also make my one shot a DINT or DINT array. That way you do not have to create a new BOOL every time you need a one shot. If you make OneShot_Bit a DINT then you have 32 made. OneShot_Bit.0 thru OneShot_Bit.31 then you can just pick them as needed.

Especially since a single BOOL address like that uses the same amount of memory as a DINT anyway...

The first question to ask is are you turning the power off ant the end of the day or at an time.
If the power is cycled most plc's don't retain data and reload the default data on power up

On some PLC's you can install an EEPROM module to store the values with power off.

The first question to ask is are you turning the power off ant the end of the day or at an time.
If the power is cycled most plc's don't retain data and reload the default data on power up