You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 29th, 2008, 02:30 PM   #31
bh307
Member
United States

bh307 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: HOUSTON
Posts: 50
I look in my 2008 electical autocad picture file and see what I can come up with
Thanks again
  Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2008, 03:24 PM   #32
KalleOlsen
Member
Norway

KalleOlsen is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Norway (moustache area)
Posts: 1,762
Wait a second

I've been doing panels and operator stations for some decades now (Siemens, Fix, Intouch, IGSS,..). What's important for the operator is to catch the status from a complex process picture quicly. Therfore I've never used 3D graphics, but kept to the teachers blackboard methods with simple polygons and lines. Made the static background less visible than the motor-,valve- and analog objects. An integrated alarm system with several priorities and filters is very important. A proper alarm system must read the alarm bits from the PLC objects and send acknowledge command back to the PLC. Blocking possibilities is also very important.
Sorry to say so guys, but my opinion is that these picture-like graphics pollute the information readability. The grapics are presumably also the least difficult part of such a system.

Another question is: why make a free system? We must collect the money where they are created: in the production factories.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2008, 04:34 PM   #33
ndzied1
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

ndzied1 is offline
 
ndzied1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 2,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archie
What kind of analog devices do you have in mind, do you have pictures or web links you can send me to show the things you would like to see? I also find Ebay a good resource for pictures of devices.
These guys make some pretty neat looking meters:
http://www.otekcorp.com/
__________________
nOrM
======================
nOrM=Norman Dziedzic Jr.
"I decry the current tendency to seek patents on algorithms. There are better ways to earn a living than to prevent other people from making use of one's contributions to computer science." Donald Knuth
  Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2008, 04:00 PM   #34
Archie
Member
United States

Archie is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Orangeburg, SC
Posts: 1,772
Based on some feedback, some new controls have been added to the Advanced HMI project. You can now use it to build HMI's without the fancy graphics by using the "Basic" controls. There is also now an Alarm Grid that monitors bits to display alarms.

  Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2008, 10:12 AM   #35
odlaw
Member
United States

odlaw is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auburn
Posts: 22
Thanks for adding the selectable red pilot light color also. I spent a day just trying to add my own.

Dave
  Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2008, 01:13 PM   #36
Archie
Member
United States

Archie is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Orangeburg, SC
Posts: 1,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by odlaw
Thanks for adding the selectable red pilot light color also.
Good catch. I completely forgot to mention that one was added also.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2008, 02:29 PM   #37
bh307
Member
United States

bh307 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: HOUSTON
Posts: 50
Hmi

Here is a screen shot of one I am working onw ith a micrologix 1500 so far everything is working great thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2008, 07:37 AM   #38
odlaw
Member
United States

odlaw is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auburn
Posts: 22
Nice looking screen above.

How can I get a Pilot light or basic light to be invisible when it is off and visible when it is on ? I have very little experience with VB But usually can muddle through it when I have a project to do.
I tried setting the colors to transparent but that only works for 1 state change, after that it doesn't work again.
Thanks in advance
dave
  Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2008, 12:58 PM   #39
Archie
Member
United States

Archie is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Orangeburg, SC
Posts: 1,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by odlaw
How can I get a Pilot light or basic light to be invisible when it is off and visible when it is on ?
The easiest way would be to add a line of code to the Value Property like this:

Code:
 
Set(ByVal value AsBoolean)
  If value <> m_Value Then
	m_Value = value
 
	Me.Visible = value
 
	Me.Invalidate() 
  EndIf
EndSet


  Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2008, 10:49 AM   #40
odlaw
Member
United States

odlaw is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auburn
Posts: 22
HMI Release 4 will not let me use a plc bit higher than 128.

Pilot light b3/127 is ok but not b3/128 and up.
Release 3 is ok
Dave
  Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2008, 12:31 PM   #41
odlaw
Member
United States

odlaw is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auburn
Posts: 22
An observation
A single pilot light above b3/127 will work but if you add another at a lower address it will not.
Odlaw
  Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2008, 09:44 AM   #42
Archie
Member
United States

Archie is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Orangeburg, SC
Posts: 1,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by odlaw
An observation
A single pilot light above b3/127 will work but if you add another at a lower address it will not.
Odlaw
I was unable to reproduce that problem, so I posted a new release (1.05) that has the code I am testing with.

Thanks for the feedback!
  Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2008, 10:17 AM   #43
odlaw
Member
United States

odlaw is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auburn
Posts: 22
I have the same problem with 5.
The processor is a micrologix1100
The B3 file has 9 elements

I added a pilot light with an addy of b3/96 and a pilot light
with an addy of b3/130

I run the project and toggle the bits in the plc via ethernet/logix500
Nothing happens.
I stop the project and remove one of the pilot lights and all is well with the remaining light.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2008, 10:19 AM   #44
odlaw
Member
United States

odlaw is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auburn
Posts: 22
It does work OK with ver 3.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2008, 10:36 AM   #45
Archie
Member
United States

Archie is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Orangeburg, SC
Posts: 1,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by odlaw
I have the same problem with 5.
The processor is a micrologix1100
The B3 file has 9 elements

I added a pilot light with an addy of b3/96 and a pilot light
with an addy of b3/130

I run the project and toggle the bits in the plc via ethernet/logix500
Nothing happens.
I stop the project and remove one of the pilot lights and all is well with the remaining light.
While hunting for another bug, I may have found what is causing this. Open DF1Comm.vb and go to line 461 and remove the "+1" to make it like this:

Code:
NumberToReadCalc = PolledAddressList(i + 1).ElementNumber - PolledAddressList(FirstElement).ElementNumber + PolledAddressList(i + 1).ElementsToRead


Let me know if that resolves the problem.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free Graphics Symbols ranjana LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 November 25th, 2010 04:34 AM
Expanding a Free HMI Software and Looking for help with drawing HMI components Archie LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 51 October 9th, 2008 08:52 AM
How to Build a Free HMI for AB Archie LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 32 December 4th, 2007 05:56 AM
SW Free build screen HMI dandrade LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 September 27th, 2004 07:44 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 AM.


.