Profacy- Machine Edition, Uploading controller logic to PC

AutomationTechBrian

Lifetime Supporting Member
I'm trying to connect for the first time to a Rx3I via Ethernet for the purpose of looking at the ladder logic and inputs/outputs while the machine is running. I do not have the original program file, but the machine manufacturer said there is no password on the program. My history is in AB and a few other varieties of CODESYS PLCs... this is my first time with GE.

I depend a lot on on-line tutorials, but I'm not finding anything on uploading existing programs onto the PC without the original file on the PC (just connecting and downloading). I'm a little afraid of making a mistake and writing a blank project to the CPU.

From what I gather so far, I create a blank project, using the correct CPU... put the IP address in the Hardware Inspector... then?

I'm at the customer's site right now, if anyone is able to give some input.

Once you have a blank project with the correct CPU and correct IP address, you should be able to connect to the PLC, . Your Proficy project will have a red "X" over the target in the navigator tree, indicating your Proficy project does not match the hardware and logic configuration on the PLC. At this point you should be able to Upload the project running on the PLC into your Proficy project. Once you have your project uploaded from the PLC, save it for safekeeping.

FYI, GEs website for downloading PME manuals:
https://digitalsupport.ge.com/commu...850-800-and-750-Getting-Started-manuals-en-US