Beckhoff IPC Hot Redundancy

ngch

Hi all gurus! I'm a newbie in automation field, hope to learn from all of you.

Let's go straight to the point.

Currently, I'm implementing automation system using Beckhoff product.
There is an application which required "hot redundancy system".

What I wish to achieve:
1) Two IPCs sharing only one EtherCAT Bus Coupler with IO cards.
2) If the primary controller fails, the backup one should immediately assume control.

I'd contacted my local Beckhoff tech support team for advice.
What they told me is Beckhoff don't support hardware redundancy.
Which I find it unbelievable! Because all other brand have this feature.

Did anyone try to implement something similar using Beckhoff before?
Wish to know is there any possibility to achieve that.
Any input would be appreciated! Thanks in advance!

What I wish to achieve:
2) If the primary controller fails, the backup one should immediately assume control.

You can do cable redundancy on beckhoff but the MTFB on the CPU and is high. What is your application that requires redundancy at CPU level and why did you opt for the beckhoff platform.

If cpu redundancy is so important I would have thought you would have researched the suitablitity of the controller before purchasing.

Hi mad4x4, firstly, thanks for your input!

The company that I working now have been using Beckhoff platform since day one, many things had built on top of it, so I don't really have the freedom to switch platform.

Actually I'm designing a plant-wide automation system.
In short, one Master IPC will control & talks to several sub-station IPCs.
Client request us to include some extent of redundancy, in order to reduce the risk of complete failure.

So I'm exploring the possibilities, I'm considering to implement CPU level Redundancy at Master IPC side & those sub-stations that control critical process.

"Cable Redundancy" is not equal to "CPU Level Redundancy" right?