Basic question on GE Micro 90 and TC touchscreen

I know this is a simple question, but I am a beginner and I want to verify my used Total control touch screen is working correctly.

Specifically I need help with addressing. On the PLC I have programmed output coil 1(%Q00001) to close when I close input 1(%I00001) and tested this with a hard wired switch. What i am trying to do is set up a button on the touch screen that would close output coil %Q00001.

GE SNPX Tag variables from the quick designer manual states the format is

Format: Gnfffaaa:bb\p_?
The leading ‘G’ may be substituted with a ‘%’
n is the memory type of the variable
fff is the data type of the variable
aaa is the address of the variable (range 1--??? Decimal)
:bb is the bit number of the variable (supported only where specified)
_? Is the address of the PLC where data will be sent and/or read

I am using quick designer for the touch screen and Proficy machine edition for the plc. I have set up the touch screen according to the manual for GE SNPX and everything seems to be working. When I use another driver I will get an error message stating the touch screen cannot communicate with the plc.

What is the PLC address, where can I find it, or how to I set it up?

Could anyone give me an example of a pushbutton tag that would register in the data tables or light an input or output on the PLC? I have tried the simple %Q00002 and it does not work.

Again I do know this is a basic question and I am probably missing something simple. I am going to school and I am setting up a test panel to study. I only ask this question to verify everything is working and I am not wasting my time on a bad communication port.
Thank you for any help you can provide.

1. Program a rung in your PLC where an internal bit %M00001, when closed, energizes output %Q00001.

2. In QuickDesigner, create a pushbutton and assign %MBI1 address to it. That would be QD's reference to internal memory bit 1, same as %M000001 in the PLC.