Serial Communication Between PLC and Raspberry Pi

Hello. I want to establish serial communication between the S7-300 and a raspberry pi. Toward that end, I'd like to begin by sending a simple 1 or 0 and have my PLC react accordingly. So I suppose you could say I want to use the raspberry pi as a switch. This is for testing purposes. I can transmit data from the raspberry pi via C++ or Python but I have no idea how to incorporate data received serially by the PLC in my ladder logic program. How can I accomplish this in Siemen's TIA Portal V13? Is there a block or instruction that I can insert into my ladder logic program and it will read the serial port? Thanks for the help in advance.

Modbus RTU is a simple and straightforward protocol. I'm not a Siemens guy, but it would surprise me if your PLC doesn't support it.

The S7-300 does support MODBUS. However, I cannot figure out how to implement that in the software. I am just a beginner as far as Siemens is concerned so I am having a hard time figuring out some of the more specialized stuff in the software.

For 35 Euros you can implement a CoDeSys PLC in your RPi.
http://store.codesys.com/codesys-control-for-raspberry-pi-sl.html

If with your testing you are OK with a 2 your timeout, then it is actually free.

I have played around with the Modbus/TCP which works great. I know it also supports Ethernet/IP but I haven't played with the Modbus/RTU but there is a pretty good forum for support:
http://forum.codesys.com/viewforum.php?f=21

I don't think it supports the /RTU directly but there is some mention of it on the forum.

Hi!

I am not familiar with TIA, but have used Step7 since it appeared back then.

The Youtube example is not relevant, as it shows an S7200 that is incompatible in all ways to your S7300.