TwinCAT EtherCAT Help Needed

sujal.sheth

Hi all,
I'm working on BeckHoff's EtherCAT Device EK1101 (Coupler). My project is to write an application which can communicate to this device.
Currently, I have trial version of TwinCAT software by which I'm able to access the Device. I'm new to EtherCAT communication and even first time using TwinCAT software. Strange behavior I'm facing while operating EtherCAT device through TwinCAT System manager is that if I start device in Config Mode then I'm able to change output buffer and can see LED on/off on EtherCAT device but same is not happening if I put Device in Run Mode (using TwinCAT software). anybody knows what I'm doing wrong ?
Second problem is with my development: I'm developing application in Visual studio (C++) and using TwinCAT library to interact with EtherCAT device. I'm able to read the state of device through API call. But I'm facing problem with reading/writing to input/output buffer of device. I'm totally clueless here.
Does anybody have some experience with TwinCAT library and provide me some help on this ? I needed very urgently.
Any immediate help will be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Please let me know if any other information is required.

Thanks,
Sujal Sheth

EK1101 is a coupler but not a processor; it does not run its own program and does not have its own I/O or internal memory. It just links the actual I/O modules to the "brain" which, in your case, is the PC that runs TwinCAT.

The demo version of TwinCAT is valid for 30 days only; after that is can still be used for configuration, but cannot run. If that is the case, you would either have to buy a license for the PC or get a CX controller with EtherCAT bus - those come with a runtime license pre-installed.

Hi LadderLogic,
thanks for reply. Ya I know EK1101 is coupler but it has 1 byte input (EL1008 terminal) and 1 byte output channel (EL2008 Terminal) memory.