Call PC program from PLC and return results from PC to PLC

adavi231

I am very new to PLC programming, so I don't know whether this is an easy question or not.

I want a PLC to call a program I have on a computer, then after the programs runs it should return the result to the PLC.

The program is written in C++ with the .NET framework. It should run whenever it receives the signal from the PLC, then it should return 2 numbers to the PLC. The 2 numbers are X,Y coordinates.

How can I do this? How do I connect the computer to the PLC? Is there PLC code for calling an external computer program? Is there C++ code for sending data to a PLC?

Unless your c++ program has the code to look for an external event, I would create a simple supervisor program that looks for an event, be it digital or through some communications channel, and start the C++ program.

How does your program report the results? To a file? The supervisor program would monitor for the end of the c++ program, read the file contents and send it to the PLC.

Lots of ways to skin this cat; this is one method but the devil is in the details.

I guess then it is the supervisor program that I would need help with. I don't know how the supervisor program can send data to the PLC, and I don't know how the supervisor program would look for an event from the PLC.

I'm not doing this for a class. I work in a manufacturing environment. We normally outsource this type of stuff to contractors or consultants. I have been learning a lot of programming recently. I've learned enough to write the C++ program, but I still don't know how to implement it because it can't talk to the PLC.

I'd have a look at this site:
http://advancedhmi.com/default.html

A regular contributor here has developed and made freely available via GPL license a set of drivers and an HMI package that runs in the Visual Studio Express programming environment from Microsoft.