Msg Instruction in RsLogix 500

Dani610

Hi All, I am new to plc programming. I have created a ladder logic in rslogix 500. Now I want to give input at one plc and get the output on the other plc.
I am using two Micrologix 1400 connected with Ethernet cable. I know that I have to use the msg instruction but i don't know how to use this.

thank you

Welcome to the forum.

Question, is this homework or actual work project?

this will have several parts.

1. copy the inputs to a file that can be used in the msg instruction.
2. set up a heartbeat signal between each plc.
3. write the message instruction between each plc.
4. copy the file to the outputs.

the connection between the plc's must go through a switch or use a cross over cable. a regular cable will not work that I am aware of.

download the instruction manual and read up on the message instruction.

I am not the best to answer the message instruction.

show your work and we will offer suggestions.
james

Thanks for your reply.
as i told that i am new to plc so
i am trying to do the simple function for now just to understand the msg instruction then i can do the changing accordingly. attached are the screenshots.
in the first plc msg setup screen i have given the address of 2nd plc in multihop tab

Untitled.jpg Untitled2.jpg

You might want to get into the habit of assigning 'N' registers as the source and targets of reads and writes in messages. At the 'input' PLC use simple rungs to copy the desired input states into a N register (I:0/0 -> N7:10/0 for example). Let's say the N register on the receiving PLC is N7:11. The MSG command would then send N7:10 to N7:11. The 'output' PLC could then simply copy N7:11/0 to O:0/0.

So to repeat the input PLC copies actual inputs to the N register. The message command transfers the data to an N register in the output PLC. The logic in the output PLC transfers the N register bit to an actual output.