Red Lion Strings from Integer Array

Old No. 7

Anyone know if it is possible to read an integer array and display it as the ascii character string?

In other words, I want to copy a string (ST, length 10) into five integers in the ML1400 PLC, so each (N) integer has the integer value for two characters. I'd like to read the integer array in the G306, but display the characters.

Yes, I know its much easier to just read the string directly, but I'm saving space in the PLC due to memory limitations. :mad:

I have some experience with what you're trying to do (using scripting in Crimson... not sure if it can be done with data tags alone).

From the Crimson 2 manual:
You may also use the addition operator to add an integer to a string, in which case a single character equal to the ASCII code represented by the integer is appended to the data in the string.
This implies that if I had a string tag defined, I could write:
Code:
StrTag := "";
StrTag := StrTag + [PLC.N0007:0000];
StrTag := StrTag + [PLC.N0007:0001];
to combine the ASCII equivalents of the integers in N7:0 and N7:1 into a single string. However, this code will not compile. I discovered (with the help of tech support) that you have to write it this way:
Code:
StrTag := "";
StrTag += [PLC.N0007:0000];
StrTag += [PLC.N0007:0001];
Your situation is a little more complicated because you have two characters stored in a single integer register. I'm not sure if the "+=" operator would recognize that. A little extra code may be required to first unpack the bits.

Anyone know if it is possible to read an integer array and display it as the ascii character string?

In other words, I want to copy a string (ST, length 10) into five integers in the ML1400 PLC, so each (N) integer has the integer value for two characters. I'd like to read the integer array in the G306, but display the characters.

Yes, I know its much easier to just read the string directly, but I'm saving space in the PLC due to memory limitations. :mad: