Macro Programs & Canned Cycles in PLC?

sean147

Hi there,

I am new to PLC as I am studying it in my Mechatronic college course.

I came across this question that I can't get my head around to answer.

"Explain how to produce effective and efficient programmes to avoid unnecessary operations (including the use of macro programs and canned cycles, to reduce program size)."

[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]When researching canned cycles specifically, it always comes up relative to CNC, to which I know to a certain extent is linked to PLC.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]So my question is, how would I go about answering that question above. Really at an end on how to produce and implement things like that to a PLC application.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Thanks in advance,[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Sean
[/FONT]

I know the same as you about CNC but after a quick read, the use of canned cycles and macros can be readily applied to any software program, it's just that the terms used would be different.

Firstly I think you can dismiss the term effective from the discussion - effective is another way of saying 'produce the expected result', in other words, a program is effective if it works which we have to assume is the case.

Efficient covers a whole range of terms, but for your case I'm assuming it is the Efficient use of memory in the controller.

Consider the implementation of a task done by a long list of sequential instructions, say there are 1000 instructions. If the instructions fit into the controller memory and it does the job, it is effective and, if that is all it has to do you could argue that it is efficient as well.

The next task to be implemented requires 2000 instructions which exceed the storage capabilities of the controller.