You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 24th, 2023, 01:51 PM   #1
ceilingwalker
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

ceilingwalker is offline
 
ceilingwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,476
Port conflict after autoconfigure in RSLinx

Good day all. I am trying to connect via RS-232 port to a SLC-5/03. I get it to autoconfig in RSlinx while creating the driver however, it then pops up an alert that reads, "RSLinx Classic has failed to configure the com port!". I select Ok, status shows running however, it says "Port Conflict" to the right of the driver name. I am using a Keyspan USA-19HS (same one I have used for many years now), using Windows 11. Since I have no other serial device connected to it, what would the port conflict be? I have serial connected many times over the years and have never seen this come up. I no longer have a tech agreement with AB.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2023, 01:58 PM   #2
ceilingwalker
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

ceilingwalker is offline
 
ceilingwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,476
Huh, here's something else: In device mgr I changed it to com port 2 and my keyspan shows port 2. I changed it to COM2 in Linx and it wouldn't configure. I put it back to COM1 in Linx and it says Auto Configuration Successfull......and no port conflict! I know I am getting old and senile however, this makes zero sense to me.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2023, 02:02 PM   #3
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 11,435
It might be something related to Windows 11, but if they still haven't buried Device Manager under too many layers of fluffy pastel b******t, try changing the COM number assigned to the Keyspan and then switch it in RSLinx.


Rant on:
I hate windows 11. A customer accidentally updated an Ignition Client to it and it runs fine, except those bastages at Microsoft painted a bunch of new fluffy b*****it* layers over the top of stuff I really need to get to and it p***es me the hell off. Where the hell is my Ethernet Devices list now? They also broke Classic Shell, but Open shell came to the rescue. I was able to put my Windows 7 Classic start menu back in the lower left corner and I just ignore that fluffy bu****it menu those bastages pasted in the middle of the taskbar.
__________________
You've been taken, but you don't know it yet.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2023, 02:17 PM   #4
ceilingwalker
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

ceilingwalker is offline
 
ceilingwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by OkiePC View Post
It might be something related to Windows 11, but if they still haven't buried Device Manager under too many layers of fluffy pastel b******t, try changing the COM number assigned to the Keyspan and then switch it in RSLinx.
.
Yup, I did all that. My second comment was that I changed it in Device Manager, re-loaded Device Manager, saw the change had been made, went to Linx and changed it and it wouldn't configure. I changed it back to port 1 in Linx and the darned thing configured AND got rid of the port conflict however, in RSWho it doesn't show any info about what is connected to that port. This is the goofiest thing I have seen in a while!
  Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2023, 02:22 PM   #5
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 11,435
Quote:
Originally Posted by ceilingwalker View Post
Yup, I did all that. My second comment was that I changed it in Device Manager, re-loaded Device Manager, saw the change had been made, went to Linx and changed it and it wouldn't configure. I changed it back to port 1 in Linx and the darned thing configured AND got rid of the port conflict however, in RSWho it doesn't show any info about what is connected to that port. This is the goofiest thing I have seen in a while!
I think I was ranting and raving while you typed in that 2nd comment.
__________________
You've been taken, but you don't know it yet.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2023, 02:26 PM   #6
ceilingwalker
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

ceilingwalker is offline
 
ceilingwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by OkiePC View Post
I think I was ranting and raving while you typed in that 2nd comment.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2023, 02:46 PM   #7
ceilingwalker
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

ceilingwalker is offline
 
ceilingwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,476
I believe it was hardware related. I grabbed an old 5/04 that I had laying on a shelf and it connected right away.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2023, 02:53 PM   #8
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 11,435
"Port Conflict" In RSLinx definitely means that the driver couldn't run because of a COM number or similar problem with Windoze.
__________________
You've been taken, but you don't know it yet.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2023, 07:57 PM   #9
I_Automation
Member
United States

I_Automation is offline
 
I_Automation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 1,223
I have found that when I change a COM port number in DeviceManager I have to close RSLinx and reopen it for it to see the port.


I also have had times where RSLinx on Windows10 wouldn't see the port when it had the correct number until I stopped it and restarted it.
__________________
ivanovaautomation.com


Some Jobs Are Best Started With A Sawzall And A Dumpster On Castors
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rslinx connectable with printer port? sunnycheevah LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 June 9th, 2020 08:53 PM
Upgrade PV600 (RS-232-DH485) comm. to ML1500 to PV+ nicer LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 35 July 1st, 2015 07:05 AM
Allen Bradley SLC 500 fault Frank McDonk LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 27 June 6th, 2011 09:58 AM
RSlinx 2.53 with Vista support available Contr_Conn LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 September 4th, 2008 09:56 AM
RSLinx problem registering definitions from PIUNSOL.INI Koos LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 January 14th, 2008 12:23 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:21 PM.


.