You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 24th, 2023, 04:53 PM   #1
justinfromPA
Member
United States

justinfromPA is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 6
Cool Devicenet Module not communicating Data[0] bits

Hello, I am at customer site. The PLC is on and well, ie. no issues. The customer had to resplice a Devicenet cable not too long ago and the machine has not been working properly since. Right now, its set to communicate with a 1769-SDN/B AB PLC. I can see bits and high and low for Local 1: I.Data[1] through Local 1: I.Data[10]. I am not receiving any bits on the Data[0]. This is preventing the machine from running, since it doesn't recognize some Estops are good. I confirmed on the input card we see 120 VAC And the LED that indicates the input should be high is correct. All of the other Data bits seem to be fine, its just Data[0] that is not showing high properly. I am going to inspect the spliced cable soon, however im unsure how device net works exactly and if a bad cable somewhere in the network could impose problems somewhere else in the network. Any inisight on this would be appreciated, the machine is in a freezer
  Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2023, 05:26 PM   #2
plvlce
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

plvlce is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 761
It would be helpful to know if there are any errors coming up on the SDN card, and also what the layout of the network is.

The 1769-SDN card contains input mapping to move incoming data into the Local Data tag, but where in the tag that data goes is up to whoever configured the network. Data[0] is not necessarily coming from the same device as [1].

The most likely explanation imo is that you have a connection problem or other error with whatever node is mapped to Data[0]. The display on the front of the SDN card should indicate a node # and an error code, with the node # matching the device you're not seeing data from; look up the error code for a starting point on troubleshooting that.

Of course given this started just after a cable issue, looking there's not a bad place to start either. A bad cable can certainly cause issues elsewhere in the network, though I'd expect issues to generally be further along that section of the network since it's not taking the whole network down.

For troubleshooting cable, by convention the red wire is +24V and black is 0V. Blue and White are the data wires, and with power off you should read ~60 ohms across them -- each end of the network has a 121 ohm resistor.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2023, 12:06 PM   #3
widelto
Member
Colombia

widelto is offline
 
widelto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Barranquilla, Colombia
Posts: 3,255
Justin: I got a program to diagnose Dnet thru CLX or Compact logix on line, just contact me I can give you a copy.
__________________
My two cents.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2023, 02:04 PM   #4
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 16,873
A bit of exposition:

The 1769-SDN module works with both the MicroLogix 1500 and any 1769-series CompactLogix that runs the 1769 Compact I/O backplane.

On a MicroLogix, the first Input and Output word would be I:1.0 or O:1.0 and they would be dedicated to status and command bits. Mapped I/O from the actual field devices would start at the second word.

But this has to be a CompactLogix application since the I/O tags are in the "Local:1:Input.Data[x]" format.

In CompactLogix, the Status and Command structures are logically separate, and the whole Input.Data[x] and Output.Data[x] tag arrays are available for data from the 1769-SDN's Scanlist.

It makes some intuitive sense that the network designer connected safety feedback devices that map to the first parts of the data table; maybe they're also the lowest-numbered DeviceNet node. They don't have to be, but often people use Auto-Map or just by habit connect the first thing they design on the network with the lowest node number and the beginning of the data table.

I agree that the most likely problem is that the device that the e-stop feedback is wired to has been disconnected from the network, or was replaced and not properly reconfigured. Any error codes being flashed on the 2-character display of the module will be very useful information.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PointIO 1734-PDN DeviceNet Module Issue Anthony92 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 January 18th, 2022 11:07 PM
Powerflex 70 - Difficulty with communicating with Devicenet ( SLC 500 ) Cydog LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 August 3rd, 2020 10:20 PM
Problem for DeviceNet Current Input Module angi LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 September 9th, 2011 10:56 PM
AB 1746-HS module - IMC 110 motion controller raj LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 12 February 20th, 2009 02:36 AM
SLC 5/03 data loss andydaoust LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 October 10th, 2002 08:38 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:03 PM.


.