S7-300 Software Redundancy Problems, Any Help Appreciated!

RenX09

Hey Ladies and Gents,

I'm new to PLCS.net and have a problem with working with the software redundancy of Siemens.

What I have:

2 - 315-2 PN/DP

Three remote I/O racks and each have the dual 153's as well as the Main rack with active backplane.

Also have an MP370 15" Touch.

Has anyone done this redundancy with the 300's yet? The more myself and another programmer speculate how to achieve this actually working the more we think the hardware should have bee the 400 series H systems for true redundancy. But we're stuck with this hardware so I'm here asking for assistance.

Concerns/Questions(many taken from software redundancy manual):

-Where does the software actually install and reside? Is a PC required on the network available to both processors like shown in the manual?

-Data transfer has to happen at a maximum size of 240 bytes and will use a minimum time of 48ms per block of data transferred (limited to a total of 8k data)

-When using PID loops will the transition from the Master PLC to the Reserve PLC cause errors/shutdown/lagging operation to weary of?

-With the MP370, as soon as the Master PLC fails the data would not continue to display (currently connected via Ethernet). Should the panel be connected MPI or DP and would that allow to somehow initiate node address change to maintain HMI functionality?

-It's said FDL communication happens across the profi cable between processors and is at a slower rate than the 48ms per move even.

-Am I realy just developing a stand alone program that incorps. IEC timers and holds my data needing update every scan to a max of 8k, then that program runs on both processors (or actually only the master until the built in blocks detect failure to trigger the switch-over) ???