WW Archestra IDE - RPC Server Unavailable

Jimfletcha

I seem to have a gift for creating new and exciting ways to make stuff not work. To that end, here we go again!

My computer is running XP SP3. I have installed, on my computer, a VPC (Microsoft VPC 6.0.192.0) also with XP SP3, and has Wonderware 10.1/Archestra IDE 3.1 installed. My computer is on the <CompanyName> Domain. The account I log in to on the VPC is set up on the <SubDomain> Domain--that is being controlled by another VPC on another desktop--as an administrator. Also, I'm an admin on my local computer.

There exists a separate computer running Windows Server 2003. On this computer exists another VPC (Windows Server 2k3). The Galaxy I am trying to connect to is installed on this VPC (the account logs into the local machine, not to the <SubDomain>). It is set up, however, on the <SubDomain> domain.

Ok. Now that that is cleared up (hah), here's my problem. (Oh, and I didn't set it up like this and have no say in the matter, if that helps). I have, up until several days ago, been able to connect to the remote galaxy from my VPC. Seemingly randomly, I can no longer connect to the remote galaxy though the Archestra IDE. I can see the computer, ping both the computer name and IP address, and even browse shared files ON that computer underneath My Network Places, Microsoft Windows Network, etc. Interestingly, that computer can't see mine, but I figure that's unrelated. The error message that the IDE spits out at me is as follows:

Connect to Galaxy: The RPC server is unavailable (Exception from HRESULT: 0x800706BA).