PLCs, data logging and analysis, need to get up to speed on available software

Mr. Blah

Hi Everyone,
I need some help and it seems that there is a great collection of people here who understand PLCs and everything about them.

Quick up front disclaimer. I am a tech guy (but am not an engineer) and am new to PLCs. I regularly work with software and IT stuff in an office context.

As I understand, PLCs are used to control machines on a production floor (or to control other electromechanical processes, which are often automated). What I am trying to understand is: how can the data running through the PLCs be used in other ways than just controlling the machines? I know there are some data logging and analysis applications, and I'm really trying to get a grip on what the scope of these systems is.

So I guess my main questions are:
1. What are the different software systems out there to log the data from PLCs and make it more useful?
2. Is there an industry standard? What are the most common software packages? What are the upsides and downsides to each?
3. Do any of them output or interface with things like Minitab?
4. SCADA systems: Do most SCADA systems log this data? What are the best ones that make it most accessible?
5. Does anyone have any good examples of ways logging the data from their PLCs improved processes or produced cost savings?

The more data or leads you can provide me with the better!
Thanks!

A quick story for people interested in why someone might be so desperately trying to learn about PLC data logging and analysis.

Imagine the following scenario: