You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 15th, 2009, 12:19 PM   #1
jetuaime81
Member
United Arab Emirates

jetuaime81 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: AA
Posts: 10
RSNetwrx CntrlNet eds file not registered

Hi all,

I am using RSNetworx CntrlNet v6.00.00 build 97 cpr 6.I have a problem adding 1756-cnb/d module to the device list. I want to add cnb/d maj rev 5. Maj rev 7 is already added. I even removed rev 7 and tried rev 5 but still gives me error "failure in copying eds file.This device is not registered". I downloaded the file from AB site. I am able to add other eds files. If the file is corrupt, is there any other place i can get this file or can someone send me a copy.

Thanx in advance. Gr8 going plctalk.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2009, 01:05 PM   #2
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,837
That version is two major revisions old, so you may consider upgrading the the current revision of RSNetworx for ControlNet to support the modern ControlNet bridges like 1756-CNB/E and 1756-CN2/B.

Are you using the RSLinx Hardware Installation Tool, or some other feature within RSNetworx ? I almost never have to install ControlNet EDS files.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2009, 02:24 PM   #3
jetuaime81
Member
United Arab Emirates

jetuaime81 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: AA
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Roach View Post
Are you using the RSLinx Hardware Installation Tool, or some other feature within RSNetworx ? I almost never have to install ControlNet EDS files.
thnx ken,

well i just opened an offline project and the cnb/d shows up as '?' but it gives me the details when i go to properties of this module. FYI, i'm a newbie. Can a firmware upgrade change cnb/d to cnb/e. we hav 3 or 4 spare cnb/d, so cant dump them you know.

any other site wher i can download eds for this card??
  Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2009, 06:04 PM   #4
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,837
The 1756-CNB/D and /E are different hardware so no, you cannot upgrade one to another.

The usual method for registering EDS files is to download them from the RA EDS website:

http://www.ab.com/networks/eds/cgi-b...0C00070500.eds

And use the RSLinx Hardware Installation Tool to register them.

Programs -> Rockwell Software -> RSLinx -> Tools -> EDS Hardware Installation Tool.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2009, 01:17 AM   #5
jetuaime81
Member
United Arab Emirates

jetuaime81 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: AA
Posts: 10
ok so i'l try this when i get back to my company..the file i used i the same as in the link u posted..i used the eds wizard in rs networx software to resgister..i'l try this method...if that doesnt work, then i'l jus reinstall the software i guess..will let you know..thanx ken

Last edited by jetuaime81; January 16th, 2009 at 01:22 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2009, 05:23 AM   #6
jetuaime81
Member
United Arab Emirates

jetuaime81 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: AA
Posts: 10
so ken..no luck with that method either..from where and how can i reinstall the eds hardware installation tool alone??
  Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2009, 10:04 AM   #7
jetuaime81
Member
United Arab Emirates

jetuaime81 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: AA
Posts: 10
ok so its done..the user id did not have administrator rights..logged into administrator and the eds was added without a problem..but i did add other eds files in the non administrator user id..dont know wats the problem..thnx neway ken...keep it going plctalk!!
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creating An EDS File for DeviceNet recondaddy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 September 25th, 2008 03:53 PM
Non-AB EDS File for RS NetWorx for DeviceNet Jimmie_Ohio LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 June 28th, 2006 03:22 PM
DeviceNet eds file Oboy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 16 June 1st, 2005 09:51 PM
PowerFlex 70 and its EDS file LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 February 16th, 2005 01:09 PM
Data Tables bosshen LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 April 28th, 2003 06:30 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 AM.


.