You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 27th, 2018, 12:06 PM   #1
Msut419
Member
United States

Msut419 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: new york
Posts: 9
Siemens screen to GE PLC

This is an odd one all, I have GE 90/70 PLCs and a very old version of Cimplicity (6.1) to control them with. We have recently add a new machine in my plant and the controls are all new state of the art and i have Siemens screens one it, they work great and are a cheaper solution to GE upgrade.

So my question is, can I use these screens with my GE 90/70 PLCs without doing anything crazy? Does the Siemens screen have a protocol converter built in? (I do not want to use a redlion)
  Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2018, 09:58 PM   #2
boneless
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

boneless is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: OKC
Posts: 1,433
What Siemens screen do you have?

Not familiar with the PLC you mention, what protocols does it support? Modbus might be an option?
  Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2018, 01:45 PM   #3
Msut419
Member
United States

Msut419 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: new york
Posts: 9
The 90/70 is talking over TCP/IP but i can't find if it is talking mudbus or not. I does say that it talks over SRTP.

Last edited by Msut419; April 30th, 2018 at 01:48 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2018, 02:02 PM   #4
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is offline
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 6,484
SRTP is GE's serial SNP protocol adapted for Ethernet TCP/IP. The 90-70 only ever supported SNP through the serial port on the CPU module and SRTP through the Ethernet module.
To use Modbus RTU you would need a communications coprocessor module IC697CMM711.
Or else check your documentation of the Siemens HMI to see if it supports communication with GE PLCs using SNP or SRTP.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2018, 02:04 PM   #5
Msut419
Member
United States

Msut419 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: new york
Posts: 9
Awesome thank you
  Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2018, 03:03 PM   #6
NetNathan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

NetNathan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 1,407
For Modbus/TCP, I believe you want the IC697CMM742 module...unless the Siemens talks to GE SRTP or SNP.
__________________
****Control Freak****
Net is where I be and Nathan is me.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2018, 03:35 PM   #7
JRW
Member
United States

JRW is offline
 
JRW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Upstate South Cackalacky
Posts: 1,621
Unfortunately the SNP driver went away with MP/TP x7x number panels
and WinCC Flex 2008 was the last of GE driver
Attached Images
File Type: jpg gesnp.jpg (41.4 KB, 22 views)
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Siemens PLC to Siemens PLC communication timryder LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 May 11th, 2016 01:07 PM
serial communication between Siemens PLC and Arduino milan12 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 September 11th, 2015 10:54 AM
SIEMENS S5 Questions...How to Upload a Project from a PLC to Laptop??? Grzyb LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 June 21st, 2015 07:39 AM
Siemens Communication between PLC (1-2) profmaster LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 May 6th, 2009 02:40 PM
Communication between Siemens PLC en AB PLC through profibus? pietervdb LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 March 14th, 2007 06:16 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 PM.


.