You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 1st, 2018, 10:00 AM   #1
JohnOK
Member
Ireland

JohnOK is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Galway
Posts: 2
L23E to 1400 comms problem

I have a problem communicating between a 1400 and a L23E. I got a call that one of our systems had gone down and needed the program reloaded. I called to the site and had a quick look. The 1400 was in error so I switched from remote to program and plugged into it. I couldn’t access the program so I downloaded a copy I got from the server. When I switched to run more everything happened as it should have so I switched to remote and left the site.
The next day I got another call from the same site telling me that the 1400 was not doing anything and the operator have to run the pumps manually. I went back to the site and connected again. This time I was able to get online without downloading the program. I found an error (hex) ‘e6’ in both the send and receive message. I started scrolling through the HMI screens and noticed that none of the readings from the main PLC were showing on the HMI. Only the values set in the less than commands in the code were displaying. The values that are coming from the main PLC should be displayed and not the values that are stored in memory.
It would appear that the main PLC is not communicating any data with the 1400 and all I can find out is that the error is an e6, does anyone know what this is? I saw this come up before in a previous post on this site but I cant find the fix for it, can anyone help out?
  Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2018, 10:23 AM   #2
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 9,782
"E6H -Target Node responded with: Illegal Address - address does not exist or does not point to something usable by this command."

Did you have to change any of the ethernet port settings when you downloaded the program? If so, you must power cycle the Micrologix.

Tell us more about how the messages and associated ports are set up.
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2018, 10:46 AM   #3
JohnOK
Member
Ireland

JohnOK is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Galway
Posts: 2
The IP settings in the code from the server were 192.168.1.40 and on the network the IP address is 10.10.10.x. I had to change the IP in the code before I downloaded the program.
The message on write side tells the L23E that the 1400 is ready. The read side tells the 1400 what pumps to turn on and what readings to display on the HMI. I've attached a snapshot of the message code to this post along with the error screenshot.
Hope they help?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Errore6.jpg (66.6 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg e6.jpg (32.3 KB, 10 views)
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Micrologix 1400 comms library: series A vs Series B Ozpeter LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 August 4th, 2014 12:44 PM
Micrologix 1400 and Compact Logix Comms Tim Ganz LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 March 13th, 2014 02:52 PM
RS Logix 500 comms problem Aftech LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 June 24th, 2010 07:11 AM
Gx developer comms problem ian.smith7 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 October 29th, 2005 04:54 AM
analogue output comms failure -timeout problem manjit LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 July 4th, 2002 09:02 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 PM.


.