You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 29th, 2009, 11:01 AM   #1
The Plc Kid
Member
United States

The Plc Kid is offline
 
The Plc Kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Macon, Georgia
Posts: 3,235
14 Wire Selector Switch

Guy's

I need some help to order some kind of selector switch that will switch 12-14 wires. The circuit is 15 vdc and some -10 to +10 analog wires also. Do i need something with gold contacts for the analogs? What about the 15 vdc? any special contact material?

Using a standard selector switch and stacking that many blocks will not work as the cabinet is only 12 inches deep plus i could see that getting damaged easily when working in the panel. Any other ideas? I have been doing some searches but have not found anything with that many poles on a hand 2 position selector switch.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2009, 11:08 AM   #2
kamenges
Member
United States

kamenges is offline
 
kamenges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Brillion, WI
Posts: 3,661
Is that 12-14 wires as in 12-14 circuits or is that 12-14 wires as in 6-7 circuits?

Not that it really matters. I would use a relay or two to switch the actual signals. Just have the switch drive the relay(s). By the time you build up that many circuits on a switch body you will have something pretty unwieldy.

Keith
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2009, 11:15 AM   #3
RDS
Member
United States

RDS is offline
 
RDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 170
Try C3 controls cam switch.
https://www.c3controls.com/cam-switches.cfm
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2009, 11:17 AM   #4
JeffKiper
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

JeffKiper is offline
 
JeffKiper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,165
Oh come on Keith don't you remember all the fun you can have with the special contact block on the back of a SS. Early make, late break, just think off all the confusion you could create.


I had a call to a plant where they had a 4 pos AB 800 SS with 7 blocks on the back of it. They did use the early make contacts. They built an almost identical machine but couldn’t get it to run. They looked at the switch but missed the part numbers. So I made a service call off of it.
__________________
There should be a minimum IQ before people can breed.

FS Eng (TÜV Rheinland, #11004/15, Machinery)
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2009, 11:39 AM   #5
jrwb4gbm
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

jrwb4gbm is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NC
Posts: 2,227
Do you think a small PLC like this one would do what you need? You could use the outputs for switching the wires and a single two position switch for the input. If all the outputs need to be isolated from each other, this won't work due to the commons configuration of the plc.
http://www.automationdirect.com/adc/..._Units/D0-06DR

Last edited by jrwb4gbm; December 29th, 2009 at 11:47 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2009, 11:40 AM   #6
The Plc Kid
Member
United States

The Plc Kid is offline
 
The Plc Kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Macon, Georgia
Posts: 3,235
It is for switching a controller between 2 cables so all 14 wires will need a contact and need to be switched. Is there any miniature contactors with this many poles and locic level contacts? Reversing?
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2009, 11:42 AM   #7
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 9,955
So, two positions, 14 poles?

I would use an array of relays with gold plated contacts. 4 four pole relays with form C contacts would give you two spares...
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2009, 12:08 PM   #8
kamenges
Member
United States

kamenges is offline
 
kamenges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Brillion, WI
Posts: 3,661
Something like this maybe?

Keith
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2009, 12:09 PM   #9
bernie_carlton
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

bernie_carlton is offline
 
bernie_carlton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 6,248
How about ripping the guts out of one of these?
__________________
Controlling outputs is the PLC's way of getting its inputs to change.

www.thePLCguy.com
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2009, 12:16 PM   #10
kamenges
Member
United States

kamenges is offline
 
kamenges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Brillion, WI
Posts: 3,661
Actually I changed my mind. Take a look here.

Keith
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2009, 04:28 PM   #11
Roy Matson
Member
Canada

Roy Matson is offline
 
Roy Matson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 465
Perhaps if you tell us a bit more about your hardware and what signals you are trying to switch we might be able to give you an alternative to switching all 14 wires.
Roy
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2009, 06:57 PM   #12
silva.foxx
Member
Wales

silva.foxx is offline
 
silva.foxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North Wales; always West to England!
Posts: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamenges View Post
Actually I changed my mind. Take a look here.

Keith

Well...bugger me backwards...I have never ever come across one of these T-bar thingys before. Marvelous!

Where would one of these be commonly used?

__________________
silva.foxx

Simplicate, NOT complicate.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2009, 07:51 PM   #13
Tharon
Member
United States

Tharon is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,421
It says on the site, on the very page he links to: Critical applications include use in naval vessels, jet aircraft, in space launch and monitoring circuits.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2009, 07:13 AM   #14
The Plc Kid
Member
United States

The Plc Kid is offline
 
The Plc Kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Macon, Georgia
Posts: 3,235
Thanks for the help everyone. For now i will go with OkiePC solution as i have those parts in house but i am also going to purchase some of the tbar relays for future applications it would clean things up a little bit.

I also have never seen the tbar relays but it looks like a very useful product. As always on this site you get multiple good solutions for your problem at hand and other great education/info for future uses. Thanks for all the replies.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2009, 05:50 PM   #15
silva.foxx
Member
Wales

silva.foxx is offline
 
silva.foxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North Wales; always West to England!
Posts: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tharon View Post
... jet aircraft, in space launch and ...
... just run-of-the-mill jobs then!
__________________
silva.foxx

Simplicate, NOT complicate.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
control panel building stu LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 214 October 11th, 2013 07:25 AM
MODBUS -> wire failure -> PLC reaction MASEngr LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 March 17th, 2009 01:36 AM
Wire flexability for data collector rpoet LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 August 12th, 2008 11:26 PM
24V + 10A = Fire? Tharon LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 24 October 24th, 2007 08:23 AM
Over rated wiring? monkeyhead LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 40 October 12th, 2005 10:41 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.


.