You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 21st, 2020, 10:31 AM   #1
rkukl
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rkukl is offline
 
rkukl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA MA
Posts: 174
Data to SQL DB

I have need to pull Data from ControlLogix into a SQL database. Have been Looking for options and found Softing tManager. Looks like will do exactly what we need.
However module is pretty pricy $$$.
Wondering what others have done and looking for suggestions.
Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2020, 10:35 AM   #2
BachPhi
Member
United States

BachPhi is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Alamos
Posts: 511
use AdvancedHMI, it's FREE.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2020, 11:39 AM   #3
rkukl
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rkukl is offline
 
rkukl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA MA
Posts: 174
Thanks will check it out
  Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2020, 02:52 PM   #4
Phrog30
Member
United States

Phrog30 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 721
AdvancedHMI will work, but I would recommend Ignition SQL Module. It will run as a service and it's insanely easy to use. Looks like the website is down for weekend maintenance, but I think list cost is around $2000. You can get prices breaks for different certification levels.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2020, 05:09 PM   #5
JaxGTO
Supporting Member
United States

JaxGTO is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kalieefornia
Posts: 824
I use Rockwell's Transaction Manager. Runs on a server but it can be pricey too. Which ever one you use (unless your just logging time interval data) make sure you data in in sync before writing it to the database. I make a rotating queue in the PLC and present data to the logger, then the logger writes the data back to the PLC in a separate area. The PLC verifies data matches and sets a bit that triggers the SQL write. Had to do that for high speed step data to get it logged properly.
__________________
I have to use Rockwell Software!
  Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2020, 11:49 AM   #6
rkukl
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rkukl is offline
 
rkukl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA MA
Posts: 174
Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2020, 08:04 AM   #7
Manglemender
Member
United Kingdom

Manglemender is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1,165
I've used Transaction manager in the past but the learning curve, and price, is steep! You also need to remember that put data in is the easy part and the real fun begins when you want to get something out again! I ended up writing stored procedures in the SQL server and a whole load of VBA code to fetch requested data and format it for presentation.

You don't mention what the desired end result is so there may be easier/cheaper alternatives that suit your needs.

Nick
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2020, 08:32 AM   #8
parky
Member
United Kingdom

parky is offline
 
parky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Midlands
Posts: 2,517
I'm not sure what your budget you have and what you would use for getting the data back out. We had two Scada systems both talking to SQL server for recipe control and data logging, both systems had bespoke web pages for producing reports, however, there was also a lot of data not being used as the reports were mainly for production. We had another system that they wanted to extract data from and no real money for the project, I came up with the idea of using Kepware OPC server to log the data directly to a DB, used Excel & VBA to do the queries this produced reports at a little under 1000. Although our IT Dept. was not keen it is something we used as the spread sheets were templates & protected so could not be altered. This proved to be very cheap and all authorised users could use the queries and certainly gave our Maintenance department some useful tools for diagnosing problems.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2020, 09:34 AM   #9
lunenburger
Member
Canada

lunenburger is offline
 
lunenburger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Summerside
Posts: 147
++ For Advanced HMI
-works great with MySql Community which is free as well.

It is rock solid, never have an issue, plus there is great help available on the AdvancedHMI forums...

I am totally new to VB.net programming and got it to do what I needed
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2020, 12:23 PM   #10
BachPhi
Member
United States

BachPhi is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Alamos
Posts: 511
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phrog30 View Post
AdvancedHMI will work, but I would recommend Ignition SQL Module. It will run as a service and it's insanely easy to use. Looks like the website is down for weekend maintenance, but I think list cost is around $2000. You can get prices breaks for different certification levels.
OT is stating Softting tManager is "pretty pricy $$$" and yet your price $2000 which $$$$ more than he can afford
[ Honestly, you would need atleast SQL Bridge Module $1900 and AB driver $400 and lots of development].
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2020, 12:52 PM   #11
drbitboy
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

drbitboy is offline
 
drbitboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,626
It's a tough call. As much as I like AdvancedHMI, I recognize that this is a hobby for me, and the final choice will depend on how much value the OP, and/or their employer, places on their time vs. cash expenditures.



I imagine there are several members of this forum for whom a week's worth of fiddling with bespoke ODBC code or similar in VB via AdvancedHMI (to save money spent on software and licensing) would be as much or more than a full Ignition license and a near-turnkey solution.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2020, 02:52 PM   #12
latchpad
Member
United States

latchpad is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Michigan
Posts: 15
I faced a similar issue, and i came across this company automated solutions that provides a .NET driver that will allow a windows forms application that I wrote in C# to be the middleman between the PLC and the SQL database. it works quite well actually, but we had a PC on that network which was already in use so I put it on there. not sure if that is possible in your case but it seems to be working well at out facility.

Cheers
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2020, 04:17 PM   #13
Phrog30
Member
United States

Phrog30 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 721
Quote:
Originally Posted by BachPhi View Post
Honestly, you would need at least SQL Bridge Module $1900 and AB driver $400 and lots of development
You're right, he will most likely need a PLC driver. Again those are list prices. As for lots of development, it's very to use. You may need lots of time, but that's just you!

I bet your paycheck he would require more time learning .NET.

Just curious how you know how much he can afford based on $$$? That's impressive!!
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2020, 04:19 PM   #14
Phrog30
Member
United States

Phrog30 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 721
Quote:
Originally Posted by latchpad View Post
I faced a similar issue, and i came across this company automated solutions that provides a .NET driver that will allow a windows forms application that I wrote in C# to be the middleman between the PLC and the SQL database. it works quite well actually, but we had a PC on that network which was already in use so I put it on there. not sure if that is possible in your case but it seems to be working well at out facility.

Cheers
AdvancedHMI is exactly that
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RSLogix5000 Data to IA DB Bob O LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 19 April 6th, 2020 03:05 AM
Manually reading or mapping EDS files. (Rockwell)(Studio)(Ethernet/IP) einnh LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 36 October 15th, 2019 04:15 PM
Step7 - data getting lost on the way to a DB! RMA LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 May 13th, 2008 03:06 AM
SQL Data ito RSView32 Erik vdH LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 October 25th, 2007 03:35 PM
Get proccess data from SQL , using WinCC V6.0 ! nguyentrungkiet LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 August 29th, 2007 07:07 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 AM.


.