You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 23rd, 2020, 06:53 PM   #31
AleArg
Member
Argentina

AleArg is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Nicolas
Posts: 4
We noticed that the problem appeared when activating a 24Vdc 36watt coil. That's 1.5 amps. The module was OW. Instead of a surge suppresor, we install a relay with embedded surge supression in the coil, an a diode in antiparallel in the relay contact. No more problems in 8 months. We also had issues in AI modules, solved by wiring to ground the negative of the 24vdc power supply.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2020, 09:57 AM   #32
dave5777
Member
United States

dave5777 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Fresno,Ca
Posts: 2
I'm having the exact same issue with a rack with 11 5069-OW16, wish I would've went with 5069-OB16 and relays instead like I normally do. I've installed 6 5069 racks and this is the first time I've had any hardware issues and the first time I used the 5069-OW16.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2020, 10:00 AM   #33
phuz
Member
United States

phuz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 879
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave5777 View Post
I'm having the exact same issue with a rack with 11 5069-OW16, wish I would've went with 5069-OB16 and relays instead like I normally do. I've installed 6 5069 racks and this is the first time I've had any hardware issues and the first time I used the 5069-OW16.
Be sure to give that feedback to Rockwell.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2020, 01:10 PM   #34
jbaron76
Member
United States

jbaron76 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstolaruk View Post
I use the FPD to isolate motion and non-motion output power; typically the FPD is powered when safe conditions exist (safety relay).
This is exactly what the FPD is for. It is not a power supply, and cannot help provide more field power to your modules. However, it can also be used to split up field power among groups of modules to keep from having too many modules on one circuit.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2020, 01:16 PM   #35
jbaron76
Member
United States

jbaron76 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 7
I just had this exact problem with a new install. We converted an old SLC control system to a 5069 CompactLogix system. Almost every time an E-Stop is pressed the local rack (connected to the processor) has faults across several modules. There are 2 OW16 modules in that rack that power inductive loads on all outputs (starters and solenoids). Rockwell has not done a good job of warning users on this issue. Most users replace like-for-like modules in a conversion without worrying about rare issues like this. Most of us are concerned more about contact current ratings and wiring differences. This never happens when converting to ControlLogix. Of course when I complain to Rockwell about this they will point to their wiring guide where it recommends snubbers on all relay modules and divest themselves of any responsibility to make it right. One thing this does is push users away from these products. If I now have to worry about doing an in-depth analysis of each IO point in an existing system to test for all possible crazy issues like this, my cost estimates for PLC conversions will be cost-prohibitive for most customers. I am disappointed to say the least.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2020, 02:37 PM   #36
FactoryTalktotheHand
Member
United States

FactoryTalktotheHand is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstolaruk View Post
I found in the last 5069 commission that the inut modules are very sensitive to noise on the input signal wires; more so than 1769 or 1734 inputs. Extra care had to be taken to route wiring father away from vfd output wiring than in the past.
I've been told the Gigabit backplane of the 5069 system is in general much more susceptible to noise than previous generation I/O.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2020, 10:05 PM   #37
rupej
Member
United States

rupej is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: NC
Posts: 815
Quote:
Originally Posted by FactoryTalktotheHand View Post
I've been told the Gigabit backplane of the 5069 system is in general much more susceptible to noise than previous generation I/O.
Interesting- I never put it together than it would have anything to do with the Gigabit backplane. That would make a lot of sense and help explain why these seem to be so much more sensitive in general than the previous generation.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Point I/O vs Flex I/O Ih8Siemens LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 14 March 12th, 2018 07:01 AM
L35E repeated major fault rainagain LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 October 10th, 2017 06:59 AM
Compact I/O vs Point I/O ASF LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 September 29th, 2015 01:38 AM
Controllogix elledge LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 43 February 12th, 2014 03:55 AM
Point I/O fault Hydro Power Guy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 August 22nd, 2012 08:41 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03 AM.


.