You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 20th, 2020, 07:35 AM   #1
Elo76
Member
United States

Elo76 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 3
Control Logix - Warehouse Temperatures

What is the best way to get warehouse temperatures back to the PLC?

The problem is that these are spread out pretty far from each other. My first instinct was to.

1. Add some remote I/O in the warehouse. Possibly Flex and bring them back to the panel and then Ethernet to the Main. There would still be alot of signal wire and panel placement would be difficult since they are scattered.

2. Does some sort of Ethernet Temperature sensor exits? Possibly one that I can daisy chain to minimize wiring.

Just looking for what others have done in this situation. Production wants to install some sort of Hobo wireless system but then it's not on the PLC and that means it's not on our historian. This system would also have a yearly fee associated with it.

Just looking for another solution here. Any ideas?

Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2020, 07:59 AM   #2
I_Automation
Member
United States

I_Automation is offline
 
I_Automation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 362
How about a Flex I/O temperature sensor, run the Etherenet to a WiFI access (or range extender with a port) connected to the plant WiFi?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2020, 08:06 AM   #3
Elo76
Member
United States

Elo76 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by I_Automation View Post
How about a Flex I/O temperature sensor, run the Etherenet to a WiFI access (or range extender with a port) connected to the plant WiFi?
That would be ok if we were on the plant network. We have our own separate control network here. We will probably have to run fiber to get to the warehouse.

Do you have a part number for this flex i/o temp sensor?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2020, 08:19 AM   #4
I_Automation
Member
United States

I_Automation is offline
 
I_Automation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 362
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elo76 View Post
Do you have a part number for this flex i/o temp sensor?
Rockwell has RTD/thermocouple Flex I/O input modules that use standard sensors

1794-IRT8/B, 1794-IRT8KI/B & 1794-IRT8XT/B
  Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2020, 08:59 AM   #5
Dravik
Member
United States

Dravik is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,568
We use HMT330s from Vaisala and pull data back using Modbus TCP.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2020, 09:50 AM   #6
rankhornjp
Member
United States

rankhornjp is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 230
E&H and Emerson both have wireless HART temp transmitters that work in a mesh configuration up to about 600ft between transmitters (line of sight). So, even if a transmitter can't "see" the gateway antenna, it will bounce off of other transmitters until it gets there.

They are battery operated and have a battery life of around 7 years, depending on update time, but I can't imagine you'll be polling warehouse temps very often (maybe once a min?). Also being battery operated they are really easy to install and move around. No conduit, no cabinets, no I/O.

The gateway is Ethernet and can connect to a PLC. Emerson's will support 100 devices (not sure about E&H). The antenna can be remote mounted for better reception.


Cost was around $6k for the last Emerson gateway I installed about 2 years ago. No reoccurring costs, fast install time.

Last edited by rankhornjp; November 20th, 2020 at 09:55 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2020, 11:00 AM   #7
Elo76
Member
United States

Elo76 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by I_Automation View Post
Rockwell has RTD/thermocouple Flex I/O input modules that use standard sensors

1794-IRT8/B, 1794-IRT8KI/B & 1794-IRT8XT/B
Lol...when you said temperature sensor, I was thinking of an actual sensor instead of a module. I read the post wrong.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2020, 11:32 AM   #8
I_Automation
Member
United States

I_Automation is offline
 
I_Automation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 362
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elo76 View Post
I was thinking of an actual sensor instead of a module.
That would make it too easy and convenient, and not as costly.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2020, 11:45 AM   #9
I_Automation
Member
United States

I_Automation is offline
 
I_Automation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 362
I just searched Google and came up with Comet-America "web-sensors' for temperature, humidity and barometer, some are POE. The P8511 starts at $220 and they go up [to RA prices]
  Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2020, 12:03 PM   #10
maperry98
Member
United States

maperry98 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Muncie
Posts: 9
Have you looked at IO-Link? I just put in some IO-Link flow meters that send flow and temperature back to the PLC over Ethernet and they work great. I'm not sure what the distance limitation is between the sensor and IO-Link hub is though.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Prosoft PLX31-EIP-MBTCP Configuration with Control Logix mahmoud shahien LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 February 12th, 2017 12:45 PM
Compact Logix or Control Logix DRPHIL LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 January 31st, 2017 07:55 PM
Control Logix and Allan Bradley Touch Screen jamalshahid LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 14 October 13th, 2011 11:40 AM
Control Logix Gateway setup jguidotti LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 June 16th, 2011 03:14 AM
Need Control Logix Help Maverick 250 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 19 May 10th, 2005 12:41 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 PM.


.