Terminator 8 channel losing 7 channels

Bering C Sparky

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi guys,
Just flew back to Dutch and got on the boat.
Went over a problem they have been having with my relief before he left and have poked at it for a couple hours now but kind of scratching my head with this one. Never seen it happen before and I am still learning to get around in this AD stuff. :unsure:
Hoping someone has experienced this before and could give some input.

We have a TIF-08DAx analog output module located in slot 5 of a terminator rack. 7 of the 8 channels 2-8 will just die (go to 0v output) after about 5 minutes. Channel 1 will continue to work as normal.
You can cycle the main Do-More processor (in another location) and the terminator analog module will work again for about 5 min and then channels 2-8 will just die again.

So far what I have tried is to disconnect all outputs from the module. (get same results)
Replace the module and base. (get same results)
Replaced the base on the other 4 modules in slots 1-4 thinking it might be a back plane problem. (same results)

I am a bit stump here and what I find even more confusing is that the program data table does not show I have 0 volt output on the channels, it shows the same as my set point but when you test with a meter there is 0 volts on the outputs.

(I miss using Allen Bradley)

Under a time crunch before we leave the dock so just thought I would throw this out there quick to see if anyone who is familiar with AD might have some input.
Off to poke at this with a sharp stick again but will check back in a while to see if anyone takes a bite at this.

Thanks,
BCS

Last edited:
A thought . . .

On the PAC that I work on, I need to match the power supply capacity when using numbers of AOs. On that device, analog output cards typically use a 'large' amount of backplane current. There are other AO cards that are 'loop powered' which use an external DC power supply.