Siemens S5 to PC communication

pwbridgeman

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hello All,
I have a machine with a Siemens S5-100U, CPU 103 that I could really use some help with. I have no experience with Siemens products, but do have experience with AB, Koyo, Modicon, and GE. (so I'm not a complete noob ;-)
I found out that I needed Step 5 software to communicate with this unit, which I have w/ proper authorization. I have installed it on a Win 95 box. The Step 5 software is ver. 7.0. I also have a Siemens RS232/TTY converter cable Part # 6ES5 734-1BD20. It has a 25 pin Dsub connector on the PC end.
Here is my problem: I can connect the cable between PC and S5, Start the PC, open the Step 5 software fine, but can not establish a com link between the two. Are there any other drivers required to communicate with this PLC? If so, is this something that I can download somewhere? Thanks in advance for any assistance>

Regards, Paul

I am at home now, and a bit rusty!
Have you a program file to work with? or are you working from scratch?

I cannot tell you exactly, but you need to be in a project, then open the config "window", and set to online.

Hmmmmm, its hard when its not in front of you to describe. Maybe you should wait till tommorow morning for me; or hopefully one of the other forum gurus can point you in the right direction asap!

http://support.automation.siemens.com/WW/llisapi.dll/csfetch/1175533/STEP5_v65_(e)_OCR.pdf?func=cslib.csFetch&nodeid=19415243&forcedownload=true

This should give you the manual (5Mb!)

Have a look at page 3.27 (pdf file page 87) onwards, it may help you for now

Last edited:
timbo_uk,