You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 25th, 2006, 06:40 PM   #1
donl517
Member
United States

donl517 is offline
 
donl517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 124
RS232 ASCII String - How to put in a register?

I am receiving an ASCII string via RS232; is it possible to send that data to an N7 register directly? (i.e. ASCII String = N7:0,01)
Will a Micrologix 1500 know what to do with this or do I have to handle it another way?

Thanks,
Don
__________________
If God had wanted us to think...
  Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2006, 06:47 PM   #2
TWControls
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

TWControls is offline
 
TWControls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 2,081
No, usually you will have to read the string from the buffer(ARD,ARL), extract the number which will still be stored as a string(AEX), then convert it to an integer (ACI)

What is sending the string?
  Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2006, 06:53 PM   #3
donl517
Member
United States

donl517 is offline
 
donl517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 124
It is coming from an SMAC test unit. They can send anything I want; So I can read it into the ST register and do a string compare as well. I was just curious if there was a way to code it to go directly into a register other than the ST register.

Thanks,
Don
__________________
If God had wanted us to think...
  Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2006, 07:01 PM   #4
TWControls
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

TWControls is offline
 
TWControls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 2,081
Is ASCII over RS232 the only option they have?
  Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2006, 07:05 PM   #5
donl517
Member
United States

donl517 is offline
 
donl517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 124
Yes & No, They have I/O on the unit but we have used it all. So we are looking at other avenues of sending a ready signal. I think I will program a first pass to clear the ASCII string at startup and then clear it again at cycle start. That should get me what I need.

Thanks,
Don
__________________
If God had wanted us to think...
  Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2006, 05:39 PM   #6
Rick-RTA
Member
United States

Rick-RTA is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 34
Don,

There is an ASCII to PLC Gateway from Real Time Automation that works great. It will take your string data and send it right to a string register in your Micrologix. The part is 435NBS. They have din rail or panel mounting. Very little logic is needed.
http://www.rtaautomation.com/ethernetip/435nba/
They show the 435NBA for the Contrologix family. They only difference really is that the 435NBA sends data to a tag and the 435NBS will be sending to a register.

Rick
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASCII escape characters in string file? JHarris LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 February 21st, 2006 12:25 PM
ASCII string validation with SLC 5/04 firebrd10 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 January 19th, 2005 12:11 PM
Experts! Help Me Convert decimal to ASCII string!! wlemst88 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 16 November 6th, 2004 05:12 PM
Ascii string over Ethernet in CLX Contr_Conn LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 June 17th, 2004 08:07 PM
SLC500 ASCII strings SteveC LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 July 5th, 2003 01:49 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 PM.


.