Programming Omron PLC, some basic help is needed

arbj

Hi,

I am new to PLCs and would like to learn basics and possibly use them in my projects.

I would like to use a PLC to generate pulses for a stepper motor, monitor some limit switches, and also receive modbus packets from a master PLC/PC.

I was interested in the CLICK series PLC from Koyo (100 USD), but unfortunately they (automationdirect) don't have online purchasing for India, so I have identified an Omron PLC, type: CP1E-N14DT1-D

Please see link...

https://www.industrybuying.com/dp/omron-micro-plc-product-code-cp1e-n14dt1-d-product-description-8-ip-6-op-transistor-sourcing-type-24vdc-power-supply/EL.SW.MI.141328/?q=MICRO%20PLC%20CPU

Please advise the following..

1. Is the Omron PLC (type: CP1E-N14DT1-D) suitable for stepper controller pulse generation ? I have a stepper controller that needs step pulses to be generated, I now generate pulses using a micro-controller (approx. 5Khz pulse rate), I need to do the same using the Omron PLC.

The entire system would be powered with a +24 VDC SMPS, ground will be common for all peripherals.

2. I would like to monitor some limit switches, +24 VDC outputs, is this possible with the PLC ??

3. Can I configure the Omron PLC as a slave unit in a Modbus RTU network, also is it possible to send and receive MODBUS RTU packets to the master PLC ? The catalogue mentions the unit having a MODBUS RTU port, is this through optional module/card or is it in-built on the CPU??

4. What software is needed for creating and programming ladder logic programs for this PLC ?? From the Omron site I see that CXONE-AL, SYSMAC, CX-Designer etc. are available for download, which of these is suitable ?? also are these software free for download and commercial use ??, the site does not mention the license clearly.

I know most manufacturers provide free software for their products.