s5 115 942 problem

catalin78

hello i am a newbie to s5 and i have the following problem in a plant here.
the s5 crashed at general power failure
when the power came back on the auto mode does't work on manual mode several functions like lifting up or down a ramp don't work anymore
the software doesnt supply any alarm known
plc goes in run mode , i will look at the other leds and post their status here.
what do i need to debug this plc ? (cables , software ... etc)
cpu is 942

May help...

I really hate to say this and I certainly would never reccomend it for any other plc but you may have to reload the program. It's dificult to troubleshoot the s5 code (as you allready know) and I have noticed on a few occasions, we finnally just reloaded the code and it came right up and ran.

Good Luck

Hello catalin 78;
Siemens' software package for S5 programming is called Step 5, and their programming cable in part no. 6ES5-734-1BD20. It is very expensive, especially for a debug/reload application so you can have a look at other packages, like S5 for Windows from IBH.
I remember having lived through a similar problem (in the old days far far ago) where we lost all timer presets in our program after a power glitch. We had to go back into the program and re-write all the original timer values (the S5 PLc has a few retentive timers and flags, but most are non-retentive). We learned our lesson and burned an EPROM of the program so glitches would not cause parameter losses.
I suggest amongst other things you go to Siemens, support website and do a search on S5 manuals (the 942 manual is named 6ES5 998-0UF23.pdf)and on Step5 programming manuals. You can download them free of charge.

http://www4.ad.siemens.de/-snm-0135030360-1078737597-0000010179-0000000017-1079359750-enm-WW/llisapi.dll?func=cslib.csinfo&changelang=true&aktprim=0&siteid=cseus&lang=en

Hope this helps,
Daniel Chartier

dchartier