You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 27th, 2017, 08:46 AM   #1
Grizzly Adams
Member
United States

Grizzly Adams is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Loysville, Pa.
Posts: 2
AB DeviceNet Problem

I have an older machine controlled by AB 5/05 processor with a DeviceNet card in slot 9 that communicates with a remote I/O rack. An input card failed and the only replacement is one with a higher Firmware revision. I can't see the remote rack via RSLinx to be able to use RSNetworx. Could someone steer me in the right direction?
  Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2017, 09:07 AM   #2
Ron Beaufort
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Ron Beaufort is offline
 
Ron Beaufort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,385
you're not giving us much to go on - but the following MIGHT help to get you started ...

start up RSNetworx for DeviceNet ... on the top menu, click "Network" - then "Online" ...

from the description of your problem, you'll probably need to "drill down" through the display until you (hopefully) see the network that you need ...

TIP: watch the little "OK" button at the bottom of the browse window ... it should "light up" when you've reached a valid entry point - it will be "greyed out" otherwise ...

good luck ... and welcome to the forum ...
__________________

2-B ?
Best regards, ----+----] [----+------------( )----
Ron | |
PLC Training Boot Camp | 2-B |
+----]/[----+

I once was lost, but now am found, was blind, but now I see.

  Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2017, 10:41 AM   #3
undr_the_table
Member
United States

undr_the_table is offline
 
undr_the_table's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: places
Posts: 24
in rslogix 500 with the module plugged does rslogix 500 detect the module?
  Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2017, 12:22 PM   #4
Aardwizz
Member
United Kingdom

Aardwizz is offline
 
Aardwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Swindon
Posts: 121
It's been a while, so I may be wrong, but I don't think you need to use RSNetworx if you're merely replacing a card with a similar card, albeit with different firmware.

The primary function RSNetworx for DeviceNet is to set up a "mapping file" for the PLC & its SDN scanner and remote ADN, so that everyone agrees where each card is "packed".

Since there is no change to the data structure (assuming the card you're replacing has the same number of channels as the original), then no new configuration "should" be required. (How I hate that word 'should', though).

What is it that you are / are not seeing (besides RSLinx not browsing the DeviceNet network) that makes you think there's a problem?
  Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2017, 02:59 PM   #5
sthompson
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Canada

sthompson is offline
 
sthompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Vernon, BC
Posts: 1,831
You have to setup a DeviceNet 1747-SDNPT Driver in RSLinx to see the DeviceNet Devices. As well, the DeviceNet Scanner Card must be setup properly to allow Pass-Through.

Stu....
__________________
There's never time to do it right, but there is always time to do it over!
No trees were killed in the creation of this message.
However, many electrons were terribly inconvenienced.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2017, 03:09 PM   #6
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is online now
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13,792
Welcome to the PLCTalk forum community !

When you say "An input card failed", what exact model of input card are you describing ? What "remote rack" are you talking about; is it POINT I/O, or something else ? Be as specific as you can.

One of the features that we take for granted in the ControlLogix platform is the ability to "drill down" through a controller to access a lower-level network.

In the SLC-5/0x controllers this is possible with the "1747-SDNPT" driver, but even that driver relies on the correct 1747-SDN firmware, configuration data file sizes, and RSLinx revision, as well as an active and correctly installed network.

Ideally you'll have a direct connection to the network via a serial (1770-KFD) or card (1784-PCD) or USB (1784-U2DN) connection to access both the Scanner and the input card you're trying to replace.

Once you do establish communications, it might be as simple as de-selecting the "Electronic Keying" section of the 1747-SDN Scanlist entry for that input module so that the system will accept any firmware revision.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2017, 07:31 AM   #7
Grizzly Adams
Member
United States

Grizzly Adams is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Loysville, Pa.
Posts: 2
Thanks for the tip. I'll give it a shot.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AB DeviceNet problem angi LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 September 9th, 2011 11:49 AM
Please help!! PanelView 600 and AB MicroLogix 1200 communcation problem matt_zzz LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 July 13th, 2011 07:54 AM
AB SLC 5/05 Open Connections Problem SCADA_Dude LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 March 25th, 2009 07:28 PM
AB Simple DeviceNet addressing question? uptown47 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 June 29th, 2008 09:23 AM
AB Controllogix Devicenet Ascii Unregistered LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 June 15th, 2005 05:48 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 PM.


.