You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 16th, 2018, 06:41 PM   #1
JZerb
Member
United States

JZerb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Highland
Posts: 182
How do YOU setup your VM peripheral ports?

so im new to the whole VM world, and i just curious as to how everyone sets up their VMs to handle the peripheral ports on their host machines. Particularly the ethernet ports. Bridged connection? NAT? Custom? With VMware i went into the virtual network editor and setup a new virtual network that had a bridged connection to my laptops ethernet card. then in the virtual machine settings under the network adapter option i chose Custom and pointed it to the aforementioned specific virtual network that i created. everything worked out in the end but when connecting to a PLC or Panelview Plus today i had to manually go in and add them, whether it was RSLinx or in FTVS and FactorytalkLinx. Is there a better way to setup the connection from the host to the guest VM so that it behaves in a way more like it would without the VW being installed?
  Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2018, 09:16 PM   #2
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is online now
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,264
My VMs have two Network Adapters.

The first is set up for ordinary DHCP on the Guest side, and configured using the ordinary VM Removable Devices -> Network Adapter settings as a NAT connection. That allows it access to both resources on my LAN (like my FactoryTalk Activation server) and to the Internet.

The second is set up as a Bridged connection, with a Static IP address that's part of my automation network.

The second adapter is a little trickier, because I use the VMWare Workstation Virtual Network Editor to manually set the bridged network to a specific physical network adapter on my Host computer. I use a USB3/GigE adapter that I can connect directly to my automation networks.

The limitation of VMWare Player is that it only allows bridged network adapters on the Guest to be connected to an automatically-selected network adapter on the Host. That works fine if you only have one, but I'm frequently connected to WiFi, VPN, built-in Ethernet, or Ethernet through a docking station.

A suggestion about why the broadcast didn't work; sometimes VPN software interferes, and sometimes you need to set up your firewall to let through the response packets. I have RSLinx Classic Lite on my Host PC, which runs a Rockwell configuration tool on the Windows Firewall on installation, and generally gets it set up correctly to handle broadcasts and browsing
  Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2018, 03:42 PM   #3
Lare
Member
Finland

Lare is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,047
Buy usb-etherner adapter and install it directly to VM, that way your host PC isn't part of connection.
Same works also for serial
  Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2018, 05:46 PM   #4
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is online now
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,264
I've actually had bad experiences connecting a USB/Ethernet adapter directly to the Virtual Machine in VMWare. The USB pass-through technology was less stable and very slow compared to TCP/IP networking.

It's possible that VMWare's USB connectivity has improved in the past few versions.

The only thing that's worse is their Serial pass-through... so I do connect USB/Serial devices straight to the Guest OS !
  Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2018, 06:26 PM   #5
JZerb
Member
United States

JZerb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Highland
Posts: 182
I actually installed my usb-->serial adapter in my VM this afternoon and made sure that it worked on a ML1400, all went well.

Ken i actually have my VM setup just as you mentioned how you have your second adapter setup. Used the Virtual Network Editor, created a network that has a bridged connection to the ethernet card on my laptop, then under the VM Settings on the Network Adapter option I chose Other and pointed it to that VMNet that i created. Seems to work pretty well IF i manually enter the IP of the device that im trying to connect to. RSLinx Classic nor FactoryTalkLinx wanted to find any devices out on the network without any help.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2018, 08:47 PM   #6
keshik
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

keshik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 401
Quote:
Originally Posted by JZerb View Post
Seems to work pretty well IF i manually enter the IP of the device that im trying to connect to. RSLinx Classic nor FactoryTalkLinx wanted to find any devices out on the network without any help.
You may want to look at what adapter RSLinx is using when you're using the Ethernet/IP driver. It is probably set to "Windows Default" which may be causing it to get confused. Try setting it to the specific Ethernet adapter you are wanting it to use.


My advice for when setting up your network adapters is to go slow and only add one adapter at a time. Rename it in the guest to match what it is pointing to. It can be a pain to get them all straightened out later.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2018, 11:58 PM   #7
Peter Nachtwey
Member
United States

Peter Nachtwey is offline
 
Peter Nachtwey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Vancouver, WA, US
Posts: 6,736
I have a Mac Book Pro and old Mac Pro with VM Fusion ( VMWare for Macs ). My setup is similar to Ken's. Etherent port 1 is set to DHCP and is used to to what ever network I am on. The is usually 192.168.xxx.xxx. The second Ethernet port is configured to talk directly to one of our motion controllers with fixed IP address. 10.0.1.2 is my Mac Pro. I think 10.0.1.2 is my Mac Book Pro and 10.0.1.4 and above is a motion controller. When in the field or at trade shows I usually don't bring a switch or hub for the motion controller. If I did it would be 10.0.1.1

Mac Book Pro Ethernet 1 is wireless. I use a VPN called viscosity with the VPN server on our computers.

BTW, the Ethernet is cool. We have a new regional sales manager in the UK now. He has a Ethernet phone and VPN so it is just like he is here when it comes to communications.
__________________
"Living is easy with eyes closed, misunderstanding all you see...." Strawberry Fields Forever, John Lennon
  Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2018, 03:50 AM   #8
Lare
Member
Finland

Lare is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Roach View Post
I've actually had bad experiences connecting a USB/Ethernet adapter directly to the Virtual Machine in VMWare. The USB pass-through technology was less stable and very slow compared to TCP/IP networking.

It's possible that VMWare's USB connectivity has improved in the past few versions.

The only thing that's worse is their Serial pass-through... so I do connect USB/Serial devices straight to the Guest OS !
make some sense. I have old ethernet adapter which works 100% and newer adapter loss connection all time on VM.
So it have to be chipset driver problem between VM and adapter like on serial adapters on PLC communication.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2018, 06:35 AM   #9
JZerb
Member
United States

JZerb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Highland
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by keshik View Post
You may want to look at what adapter RSLinx is using when you're using the Ethernet/IP driver. It is probably set to "Windows Default" which may be causing it to get confused. Try setting it to the specific Ethernet adapter you are wanting it to use.


My advice for when setting up your network adapters is to go slow and only add one adapter at a time. Rename it in the guest to match what it is pointing to. It can be a pain to get them all straightened out later.
so i just opened up RSLinx and i couldnt seem to figure out how to determine exactly what adapter that RSLinx is using with the Ethernet driver. Could you point me in the right direction?
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing Peripheral Port mode on Omron CJ1M rguimond LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 November 14th, 2012 04:59 PM
Transferring Siemens License keys to VMware VM joseph_e2 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 January 18th, 2012 03:01 PM
Panel View+1500 communication setup angi LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 January 5th, 2012 01:39 PM
1761-net-dni setup Holmzy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 12 November 14th, 2011 12:19 AM
ABB Drive setup question geoplc LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 October 28th, 2011 12:21 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33 PM.


.