You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 12th, 2018, 03:50 PM   #1
hecti.brown
Member
Canada

hecti.brown is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Montreal
Posts: 8
Studio 5000 v31 Fatal Errors

Started my first program in v31 for work at the end of last week, our templates are all v30 and I am the first to start using v31. Everything was great until i had to start modifying our UDTs and Aliases. I have been getting lots of fatal errors whenever I need to modify any of the above. I was just wondering if anybody else is having the same issues.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2018, 04:09 PM   #2
KuulKuum
Member
United States

KuulKuum is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 172
I haven't used version 31 yet. But a quick Google does show others are having similar issues.

Comments section from RowdyDoc...
https://theautomationblog.com/studio...-31-whats-new/

Comments from Reddit...
https://www.reddit.com/r/PLC/comment...r_anyone_else/

I'm sure I could hunt down more.
Be sure to at least try installing the latest major revisions and patch-rollups
  Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2018, 04:20 PM   #3
jkerekes
Member
United States

jkerekes is offline
 
jkerekes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,188
Supposed to be releasing soon another point update to version 31, along with an emulator for it.
__________________
John
  Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2018, 04:21 PM   #4
hecti.brown
Member
Canada

hecti.brown is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Montreal
Posts: 8
I am glad I am not the only one, I will keep a look out for the updates.

Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2018, 04:40 PM   #5
Geospark
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Geospark is offline
 
Geospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kildare
Posts: 2,591
TIP: It's usually best to provide us the specific Fatal Error message details so we can zone in on specific help (if it exists, I'll find it!) without guessing what it is from a more vague description.

However, while we wait for those details (if you do want to provide them), here is one example of a possible cause/solution from the Rockwell Automation Knowledgebase...

61277 - Studio 5000: Fatal Error 0x80042001
Access Level: TechConnect

In case you cannot access that?...

Cause:

When editing a UDT in v30 of Studio 5000

Error 0x80042001 (-2147213311)
RxE_NOT_FOUND - Requested item could not be found.


Solution:

Do the following:

Restart RSLogix 5000
Save the project as an .L5K file
Reopen the .L5K copy with RSLogix 5000


Note: The "Cause" there may be similar to your situation, but the "Solution" may not be the fix for you, depending on whether or not that specific Error message is the same as yours.

But trying that solution certainly cannot hurt.

Regards,
George
__________________
"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men".
  Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2018, 05:17 PM   #6
jstolaruk
Member
United States

jstolaruk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit, SouthEast Michigan
Posts: 3,302
On my 2nd v31 project with 5069 safety processors, had one fatal error early on but it seems to have settled in these last couple of weeks. I do keep up with the patch updates.
__________________
"You can live to be a hundred if you give up all the things that make you want to live to be a hundred." Woody Allen
  Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2019, 06:19 PM   #7
TheWaterboy
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

TheWaterboy is offline
 
TheWaterboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: State of Denial
Posts: 831
OMG, I am starting my first of many projects with v31. Damn thing crashes all the time!

Fatal Error.jpg
  Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2019, 06:37 PM   #8
rupej
Member
United States

rupej is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: NC
Posts: 474
I skipped 31, and went straight to 32. Smooth sailing so far.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Studio 5000 download question RBergmann LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 October 10th, 2017 08:18 AM
Studio 5000 download question RBergmann LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 October 9th, 2017 11:59 AM
EDS not registered in Studio 5000 jkaranas LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 September 25th, 2017 01:53 PM
New guy here, question about 1756-L72 and studio 5000 Jasondelane LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 March 12th, 2015 05:10 PM
RSLogix 5000 V15 Features Samneggs LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 April 20th, 2006 06:45 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24 PM.


.