Program Critique request

PCS1

Anyone out there with Automation Direct DirectSoft 5 experience willing to give a "look over" of a TOTAL NEWBIE's first stages of writing a PLC ladder logic?

Disclaimer should be obvious, but let me bolster it with this thought/fact.
"I have no idea what I am doing. Sure wish the boss would have providing a training class"

If you would like to critique this fine work and offer some pointers (other than "Take a class"), I'd be glad to send you the prj file and any other details that would help you understand the purpose of the program.

email me direct if interested.
Thanks, Dave
[email protected]

PCS1,

Just zip it up and attach it to your reply to this post. Be sure to include all the files not just the .prj file. For example .ESX, .LCD, .LCX, etcetera, etcetera. A description of the "process" will be necessary also.

I challenge you to find a post that ridiculed someone for trying.

Edit: Trying to get their homework done for free does not count.

Oh! And welcome to the forum!

Last edited:
Hopefully this compressed folder is correct and what is needed to review program.

The basics of the machine are this (and yes a picture is worth 1000 words).

The basic operation of this machine is to move packages through a series of holding stations until they get to the human operator who does nothing more than unbundle the package, move the contents to a washing line and then transfer the top and bottom pallet of the package to a transfer line.

There are three zones/lines. The first and last have six stations. The second has three stations. Each zone has it's own carriage to move the packages from station to station.
It has a lift cylinder that raises the carriage with the package, then a servo motor to move it to the designated station. It can only move to the next available open station.
Once there, the cylinder retracts, dropping the package in that station until the next move.