You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 5th, 2019, 01:37 PM   #1
allende
Member
South Africa

allende is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: South Africa
Posts: 2
One Shot Instruction

Hello everyone,
I am a beginner in PLC programming and I need your help. I am trying to use a one-shot instruction in my program just to see how it works but the challenge that i have is that when I actuate my n/o input and click on 1 scan the one shot is actuated ()turns green on the first rung but on the second rung nothing is happening. My second rung has two instructions, it has one n/o input with the same OSR address (A/0) and output O/1. I thought I was supposed to see the input & output on the second run activated. Am I missing something? Thank you...
  Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2019, 02:07 PM   #2
VAN
Member
United States

VAN is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wa
Posts: 322
Can you post the code?

One shot should only be active for one scan, so if it's part of an output you'd see it go on and immediately off. (realistically you wouldn't see it change state)
  Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2019, 02:08 PM   #3
willxfmr
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

willxfmr is offline
 
willxfmr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 407
Try this arrangement and see if you get a different result.

Rung 1:NO input, OSR, Latched Output.
Rung 2: Different NO input, Unlatch for the Output on Rung 1.

This should give you a better idea of how the OSR behaves.



Bubba.
__________________
“Now will come the nay-sayers with all the reasons why you shouldn't do this. Some of them are teachers, and some of us are doers. Besides, you have got to let the smoke out of this equipment every now and then, or it starts to clog up the chimney.”
~Lancie1
  Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2019, 04:00 PM   #4
Skidood
Member
Canada

Skidood is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Ontario
Posts: 160
If you are using Rockwell Software, look at the ONS instruction, instead of the OSR. When I started out, I started with the OSR since it seemed easier to understand and utilize than the ONS, however i quickly realized that a ONS was the way to go, for me anyway. With a ONS you don't need to create any extra latch bits or worry about storage bits etc. Not sure if that suits your ladder logic but just a shot in the dark. You basically place the ONS right after all input instructions on the rung and then all the outputs (branched or not) you want to one-shot are placed after it on the same rung.

Last edited by Skidood; August 5th, 2019 at 04:02 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2019, 05:10 PM   #5
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is offline
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 10,291
AB implements the "OSR" instruction differently depending on the PLC you are using.

What is the model of PLC you have?

If you can, post a screen shot of the 2 rungs in question.

See pdFS

If its osr2 then you will need a different address for that OSR (same as an "ONS) instruction in rung 2.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf osr1.pdf (113.2 KB, 20 views)
File Type: pdf osr2.pdf (171.6 KB, 14 views)
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb

Last edited by Mickey; August 5th, 2019 at 05:32 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2019, 01:37 PM   #6
allende
Member
South Africa

allende is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: South Africa
Posts: 2
finally got it...

Hello guys, thank you so much for the comments, they were really enlightening. I managed to get the program for the ONS, OSR and the OSF running properly. I am grateful for all the information you have shared!
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FOR instruction help in Studio 5000 DaveLM LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 May 27th, 2017 09:27 AM
Logix5000 - Unconditional Output behaviour when Faulted lambles LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 12 May 16th, 2017 07:43 PM
Forces in Allen-Bradley – more than you really wanted to know Ron Beaufort LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 22 August 27th, 2013 10:43 AM
installing a panelview 600 + rjmarinaro LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 June 17th, 2008 11:52 AM
different types of one shot plc noob LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 October 31st, 2007 10:29 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 AM.


.